JHU Office of Sustainability honors 12 with Green Blue Jay Awards

The Johns Hopkins Office of Sustainability will present 12 awards today to honor those in the Hopkins community who demonstrate a commitment to sustainability principles and action. The ceremony will be followed by a happy hour in celebration of Earth Week.

The recipients of the Green Blue Jay Awards were selected by the Office of Sustainability for their efforts contributing to sustainability-related dialogue and action in the areas of peer engagement, operational improvements, events and programming, and academics.

The Office of Sustainability celebrates the following individuals, groups, and efforts:

  • The Homewood Recycling Furniture Reuse Program will receive the "Three Legged Stool Award" for its incorporation of the three integral pieces of sustainability—economic, environmental, and social—in a unique project.

  • Janel Johnson from Paperless Accounting Stewardship will receive the "Change from Within Award," which recognizes an individual who has demonstrated leadership in transforming practices and protocols in ways that produce wide-ranging university impacts.

  • Travers Nelson from UTL Signage will receive the "Sustainability Exposed Award" for making the vision of sustainability more accessible and visible to the Johns Hopkins community.

  • Nikita Singh will receive the "Spirit of Sustainability Award," which recognizes a person who demonstrates a unique enthusiasm for sustainability at Johns Hopkins that inspires change in others.

  • The "Community Partner of the Year" will be the Baltimore Community ToolBank, which has shown exceptional commitment to sustainability on one or more of the Johns Hopkins campuses.

  • Legg Mason will be recognized as the "Green Partner of the Year" for its Great Baltimore Oyster Partnership, which demonstrates exceptional commitment to sustainability.

  • The "Green Division of the Year Award" will be presented to Homewood for its significant progress in sustainability over the course of the past year.

  • The Leadership Initiative for the Environment will receive the "Student Group of the Year Award," which recognizes the student organization that has made the biggest impact during the past year.

  • The Centennial Kickoff Festival will receive the "Zero to Hero Award," which highlight an event or project that exemplifies great progress in incorporating zero-waste principles.

  • The "By the Book Award" will be given to the Department of Geography and Environmental Engineering in recognition of its accomplishment of integrating sustainability principles and priorities into academics.

  • The Keswick Green Team Farmers' Market will receive the "Above and Beyond Award" for demonstrating the strongest commitment to campus sustainability efforts in a unique way.

  • The Office of Communications will receive the "Wacky and Wonderful Award" for thinking outside the box to creatively advance sustainability values and action at JHU.