A new playing field as Hopkins lacrosse joins Big Ten

Independent no longer. In 2015, Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse competes as an affiliate member in the newly formed Big Ten lacrosse conference. President Ronald J. Daniels says the decision to join a conference "may represent the single greatest change in Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse in more than a century." In the Big Ten, the Jays will compete with Maryland, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers, and the conference champion automatically qualifies for the NCAA Tournament. The Jays' lacrosse season kicks off on Feb. 7 vs. UMBC, and its conference games begin in March. Here's a quick primer on all things Big Ten.


The Big Ten traces its roots to the Palmer House hotel in Chicago, where on Jan. 11, 1895, Purdue President James H. Smart and leaders from the universities of Chicago, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin and Northwestern University set out to organize, and develop principles for the regulation of intercollegiate athletics. One year later, the seven universities established what would later be known as the Intercollegiate Conference Athletic Association. After the addition of three other schools, the name "Big Ten" was coined in 1917 and officially adopted in 1987.


James E. Delany, now in his 26th year as commissioner, has led the Big Ten conference (which now has 14 member institutions) through significant periods of growth. With a footprint that stretches from the Colorado border to the Chesapeake Bay, the Big Ten sponsors 28 official sports, more than every conference but the Ivy League.

The conference has seen unprecedented levels of national TV coverage during Delany's tenure, highlighted by the creation in 2007 of the Big Ten Network as a joint venture with FOX. Delany also has negotiated media agreements with ABC, CBS Sports, ESPN, and the NBC Sports Network. The 66-year-old Delany is a native of South Orange, New Jersey. He received his undergraduate degree in political science from the University of North Carolina in 1970 and juris doctor degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law in 1973.

The 2015 Big Ten Tournament

  • When: April 30–May 2
  • Where: University of Maryland, College Park
University of Maryland
  • Location: College Park, Maryland
  • Founded: 1856
  • Undergrads: 26,658
  • Miles from Baltimore: 35
  • Nickname: Terrapins
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 1924
  • Home field: Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium (54,000)
  • Head coach: John Tillman
  • NCAA appearances: 37
  • NCAA Tournament titles: 2
  • 2015 matchup: April 26 at Maryland
University of Michigan
  • Location: Ann Arbor, Michigan
  • Founded: 1817
  • Undergrads: 28,283
  • Miles from Baltimore: 523
  • Nickname: Wolverines
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 2012
  • Home field: Michigan Stadium (109,901) or Oosterbaan Field House (500)
  • Head coach: John Paul
  • NCAA appearances: 0
  • 2015 matchup: April 18 at JHU
Rutgers University
  • Location: New Brunswick, New Jersey
  • Founded: 1766
  • Undergrads: 45,000
  • Miles from Baltimore: 160
  • Nickname: Scarlet Knights
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 1887
  • Home field: Yurcak Field (5,000) or Rutgers Stadium Complex (52,454)
  • Head coach: Brian Brecht
  • NCAA appearances: 9
  • 2015 matchup: March 28 at JHU
Penn State University
  • Location: State College, Pennsylvania
  • Founded: 1855
  • Undergrads: 40,085
  • Miles from Baltimore: 170
  • Nickname: Nittany Lions
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 1913
  • Home field: Penn State Lacrosse Field (1,000)
  • Head coach: Jeff Tambroni
  • NCAA appearances: 3
  • 2015 matchup: April 11 at JHU
Ohio State University
  • Location: Columbus, Ohio
  • Founded: 1870
  • Undergrads: 44,201
  • Miles from Baltimore: 420
  • Nickname: Buckeyes
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 1953
  • Home field: Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium (10,000)
  • Head coach: Nick Myers
  • NCAA appearances: 4
  • 2015 matchup: April 5 at Ohio State
Johns Hopkins University
  • Location: Baltimore
  • Founded: 1876
  • Undergrads: 5,125
  • Nickname: Blue Jays
  • Varsity lacrosse started: 1883
  • Home field: Homewood Field (8,500)
  • Head coach: Dave Pietramala
  • NCAA appearances: 42
  • NCAA Tournament titles: 9

Posted in Athletics

Tagged men's lacrosse