Six from Johns Hopkins named AAAS fellows

Six Johns Hopkins University researchers have been elected by their peers as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They are Aravinda Chakravarti, a professor in the departments of Medicine, Pediatrics, and Molecular Biology and Genetics in the School of Medicine, and the Department of Biostatistics in the Bloomberg School of Public Health; Peter J. Espenshade, a professor of cell biology and associate dean for graduate biomedical education in the School of Medicine; Alex Leo Kolodkin, a professor of neuroscience in the School of Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; Jin Zhang, a professor in the departments of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences and of Neuroscience in the School of Medicine and a professor of oncology in the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center; Margaret Meixner, a full astronomer at the Space Telescope Science Institute and a principal research scientist in the Henry A. Rowland Department of Physics and Astronomy; and Daniela Drummond-Barbosa, an associate professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the Bloomberg School of Public Health. The association's 401 newly elected fellows will each be awarded a certificate and a rosette pin during the AAAS Fellows Forum on Feb. 14 at the 2015 AAAS annual meeting in San Jose, California.