Alumni Association honors top teachers

Since 1992, the Johns Hopkins Alumni Association has honored faculty throughout the university who excel in the art of teaching. The nomination and selection methods differ by school, but students must be involved in the process. The award can be given to one or more teachers, or, if a division so desires, in different classifications.

This year, 14 faculty members are being recognized with Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Bloomberg School of Public Health: In the large class category: Marie Diener-West, a professor in biostatistics, Biostats 621, 622, 623; medium class: Floyd "Randy" Bryant, a professor in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Biochemistry 1, 2; online class: Judith Bass, an assistant professor in the Department of Mental Health, Mental Health Issues in Developing Countries; and small class: Carolyn Cumpsty Fowler, an assistant professor in Health Policy and Management, Design and Evaluation of Community Health and Safety Interventions.

Carey Business School: Mario Macis, an assistant professor in the research track with expertise in labor and human resources economics, public economics, and experimental economics.

Krieger School of Arts and Sciences: Mary Bensabat-Ott, an associate teaching professor in the Department of German and Romance Languages and Literatures; and Stewart Hendry, a professor in the Department of Neuroscience.

Peabody Institute: Steven Rainbolt, a member of the Conservatory's voice faculty.

SAIS: Søren Jessen-Petersen, an adjunct professor of international relations at the Bologna Center, Economic Migrants, Refugees, and Human Security.

School of Education: Laura Owen, an assistant professor on the clinical faculty.

School of Medicine: Colleen Christmas, an associate professor of medicine in the Division of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology and director of the Internal Medicine Residency Training Program at Bayview Medical Center.

School of Nursing: Shawna Mudd, an assistant professor in Acute and Chronic Care; and Nasreen Bahreman, a clinical instructor and course coordinator for Undergraduate Health Systems.

Whiting School of Engineering: Jason Eisner, a professor in the Department of Computer Science.