Krieger School faculty in the news

Notable books, fellow elections, academic awards, and more

Jane Bennett's book Vibrant Matter: A Political Ecology of Things was named a book of the decade in an initiative by Duke University Press. Each editor at the press was invited to choose the book published by Duke that they considered most influential since 2010. Bennett is the Andrew W. Mellon Professor in Humanities in the Department of Political Science.

Emanuele Berti, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was selected to present the annual Buhl Lecture at Carnegie Mellon University.

Mary Favret, a professor in the Department of English, was awarded the Keats-Shelley Distinguished Scholar Award at the Modern Language Association annual meeting in Seattle in recognition of her "career-long excellence in scholarship" of the Romantic period.

Karen Fleming, a professor in the Department of Biophysics, was selected as a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for the 2020–21 academic year. Scholars typically travel to more than 100 colleges and universities, spending two days on each campus.

Rigoberto Hernandez, the Gompf Family Professor of Chemistry, was named a fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry.

Sarah Hörst, an assistant professor in the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, was awarded the 2020 Early Career Award from the Laboratory Astrophysics Division of the American Astronomical Society.

Martha S. Jones' All Bound Up Together: The Woman Question in African American Public Culture, 1830-1900 was named to ZORA magazine's list of the 100 greatest books ever written by African American women. Jones is the Society of Black Alumni Presidential Professor and a professor of history.

Chikako Mese, a professor in the Department of Mathematics, was named a fellow of the American Mathematical Society for her contributions to the theory of harmonic maps and their applications, and her service to the mathematical community.

Colin Norman, a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, was selected as a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a lifetime distinction that recognizes outstanding contributions to science and technology.

Lawrence M. Principe, Drew Professor of the Humanities and director in the Department of History of Science and Technology, was awarded the HIST Award of the History of Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society. The international award recognizes outstanding achievement in the history of chemistry.

V. Sara Thoi, an assistant professor in the Department of Chemistry, was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER award to study the redox behavior of metal-organic frameworks for energy storage devices. She was also selected for the Women in Engineering Program at the University of New South Wales in Sydney.

Christy Thornton, an assistant professor in the Department of Sociology, was appointed a fellow at the Quincy Institute.

David Yarkony, chair and D. Mead Johnson Professor of Chemistry, received the American Chemical Society's 2020 award in theoretical chemistry for his work "demonstrating the significance and properties of conical intersections of two or more adiabatic electronic states."

Marc Kamionkowski, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor; Adam Riess, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Thomas J. Barber Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Krieger Eisenhower Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Joseph Silk, research professor and Homewood Professor of Physics and Astronomy; and Rosemary Wyse, Alumni Centennial Professor, were named to the inaugural class of American Astronomical Society Fellows. They are all members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Read more on the Hub.

Posted in News+Info