President's Frontier Award nominations are open

Program recognizes exceptionally promising full-time faculty members

Nominations are now open for the fifth cycle of the $250,000 President's Frontier Award, which recognizes exceptionally promising full-time JHU faculty members. Nominations—of oneself or a colleague—will be accepted through Nov. 12.

The award program was created to recognize scholars who demonstrate significant achievement and are expected to produce important future work. It is not intended to serve as a lifetime achievement award but as an investment in an individual's academic creativity and transformative potential in his or her field of study. The recipient may use the award for a research sabbatical, lab support, hiring of assistants, travel, publication of findings, or other purposes that advance academic pursuits.

The inaugural award was presented in 2015 to Sharon Gerecht, a stem cell researcher in the Whiting School of Engineering. Scott Bailey, a molecular biologist in the Bloomberg School of Public Health, received the 2016 award. Composer Michael Hersch of the Peabody Institute was recognized in 2017. The 2018 recipient was the School of Medicine's Deidra Crews, a national leader in the study of chronic kidney disease.

The President's Frontier Award began with a gift of $1.25 million from two alumni—trustee Louis J. Forster, who received degrees from the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and SAIS, in 1982 and 1983, respectively, and Kathleen M. Pike, who received a diploma from SAIS Bologna in 1981 and holds undergraduate and master's degrees from the Krieger School, received in 1982 and 1983—as a way to support scholars among the Johns Hopkins faculty who are innovative leaders in their fields.

Details about the nomination process are on the Office of the Provost website.

A selection committee of Johns Hopkins faculty will review the submissions, identify a group to advance to the second tier, and then ask deans and department chairs for letters of recommendation. University President Ronald J. Daniels and Provost Sunil Kumar will select the recipient from among the finalists.

Posted in News+Info