Johns Hopkins launches national search for next chief diversity officer

Search committee will be led by Nancy Kass, vice provost for graduate and professional education, and Ashley Llorens, chair of the Diversity Leadership Council

Johns Hopkins University has selected a 19-person search committee to identify and consider candidates for the role of vice provost for diversity and inclusion and chief diversity officer. The committee held its first meeting earlier this month.

The chief diversity officer for Johns Hopkins University aligns diversity and inclusion initiatives with university priorities, serves as the primary steward of the Roadmap on Diversity and Inclusion, and coordinates and collaborates with the university's divisions on diversity and inclusion activities.

The search committee will help identify a permanent successor for Fenimore Fisher, who left Johns Hopkins in July to lead diversity and inclusion at the multinational law firm DLA Piper LLP. The group will be led by co-chairs Nancy Kass, vice provost for graduate and professional education, and Ashley Llorens, chief of the Intelligent Systems Center at the Applied Physics Laboratory and chair of the Diversity Leadership Council.

In lieu of appointing an interim chief diversity officer, Llorens and two additional key stakeholders—Stephen Gange, executive vice provost for academic affairs, and Sherita Golden, vice president and chief diversity officer for Johns Hopkins Medicine—will work collectively to advance diversity and inclusion efforts across the university until Fisher's successor is named.

A brief description of the chief diversity officer role and information about how to nominate candidates are available on the website of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion. Anyone with questions for the office during the transition is encouraged to continue sending them to

In addition to the co-chairs, the other members of the search committee are:

  • Jawara Allen, MD-PhD Student, School of Medicine
  • Abra Bush, Senior Associate Dean of Institute Studies, Peabody Conservatory
  • Joseph Col√≥n, Director of Multicultural Affairs, Homewood Student Affairs
  • Sherita Golden, Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, JHM
  • Jeffrey Gray, Professor, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Whiting School of Engineering, and ex officio member of the Diversity Leadership Council
  • John Hunter, Member, Carey Business School's Dean's Advisory Council and retired QVC executive
  • Oluwa Oshewa, Undergraduate Student, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Keshia M. Pollack Porter, Associate Dean for Faculty, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Gloria Ramsey, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, School of Nursing
  • Tilak Ratnanather, Associate Research Professor, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine
  • Noemi Crespo Rice, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, School of Advanced International Studies
  • Susana Rodriguez, Postdoctoral Fellow, School of Medicine
  • Smita Ruzicka, Dean of Student Life, Homewood Student Affairs
  • Darlene Saporu, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and Whiting School of Engineering
  • Lorraine Smith, Senior Grants and Contracts Analyst, Bloomberg School of Public Health and President of the Black Faculty and Staff Association
  • Howard E. Woolley, Johns Hopkins Medicine Trustee
  • Demere Woolway, Director, LGBTQ Life, Homewood Student Affairs