Vincent Guilamo-Ramos, one of contemporary nursing's most respected thought leaders, change agents, and scientists, has been named director of the Institute for Policy Solutions at the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing, a new health policy, research, and practice institute that is based at the Hopkins Bloomberg Center in Washington. Guilamo-Ramos was previously dean of the Duke University School of Nursing, where he was Bessie Baker Distinguished Professor and vice chancellor for nursing affairs. He is a nurse practitioner licensed in both adult health and psychiatric–mental health nursing. A member of the Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS, Guilamo-Ramos serves on the boards of other AIDS-focused organizations. Most recently he was appointed to the UnidosUS board of directors, and he is a member of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Committee on Unequal Treatment Revisited: The Current State of Racial and Ethnic Disparities in Healthcare. His appointment takes effect Jan. 2.

Yayuan Liu, an assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering in the Whiting School of Engineering, has been named to the Class of 2023 Packard Fellows for Science and Engineering by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation. The nation's largest nongovernmental research award, the Packard Fellowship is designed to support creative and innovative lines of research by early career scientists. Liu was recently named to the 2023 MIT Technology Review's 35 Innovators Under 35 list in recognition of her groundbreaking research on significantly reducing carbon emissions through innovative electrochemical processes. She is one of 20 nationwide to receive the prestigious award, which is accompanied by a grant of $875,000 over five years.

Seven Johns Hopkins University scholars have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine. From the Bloomberg School of Public Health are biostatistician Karen Bandeen-Roche, public health preparedness specialist Tom Inglesby, health equity expert Keshia Pollack Porter, and gun policy expert Daniel Webster. From the School of Medicine are health equity expert Deidra Crews, ophthalmologist Justin Hanes, and trauma surgeon Joseph Sakran. Membership in the National Academy of Medicine, considered one of the highest honors in the fields of health and medicine, recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding professional achievements and commitment to service. The announcement was made during the NAM's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., in October.

For the first time in its history, Johns Hopkins University won the Learfield Directors' Cup, presented annually by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics to the colleges and universities in the U.S. with the most success in collegiate athletics. Johns Hopkins had the most successful season among NCAA Division III schools, scoring points in 19 total sports, including 14 that finished among the top 10, with national championships in women's soccer and women's cross country. JHU totaled 1282 points, while Tufts took second place (1126.5), and Williams placed third (1112.75). Hopkins finished second in the Directors' Cup standings on three previous occasions, in 2015, 2019, and 2022. The DIII Director's Cup was first awarded after the 1995–96 academic year. JHU's total was the third highest among any school in the nation at any level, trailing only Stanford (1339) and Texas (1306.5).

A team of undergraduate Biomedical Engineering students was named runner-up in the 2023 Collegiate Inventors Competition in Washington, D.C., in late October. Calling themselves the OnPoint Ventilation team, its members—senior Sneha Batheja, junior Alexandra Gorham, senior Charlie Almoney, senior Ria Jha, junior Nina Nair, senior Arijit Nukala, and junior Krisha Thakur—created the Bronchosleeve, a novel catheter designed to reduce the complications associated with one-lung ventilation, or OLV, a common procedure in chest surgeries. A panel of judges from the National Inventors Hall of Fame and the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office chose the five finalists and the winners. Elizabeth Logsdon, director of the Biomedical Engineering undergraduate program, and Brijen L. Joshi, an assistant professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine at the School of Medicine, advised the team. As runner-up, the team received a $5,000 prize.

Leslie Mancuso, president and CEO of Jhpiego, is among eight global health leaders named distinguished fellows of the Nigeria-based Academy of Public Health for their contributions to improving the health of Africans and inspiring a generation of public health professionals. Mancuso, a recognized international business executive and nurse, has led Jhpiego for more than two decades. During her tenure at the global health nonprofit and Johns Hopkins University affiliate, she has prioritized equity, inclusion, and diversity in the delivery of quality care across the organization's work in 40-plus countries, including its programs in Nigeria.

For the third year in a row, Johns Hopkins University received a Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award from INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine, the oldest and largest diversity-focused publication in higher education. The Johns Hopkins School of Nursing also received its sixth consecutive HEED Award in the health professions category. INSIGHT Into Diversity magazine selected Johns Hopkins to receive this award based on the university's commitment to fostering a more welcoming, inclusive, and accountable culture. The School of Nursing was recognized for its efforts to cultivate a diverse environment—52% of its students and more than a third of its faculty are from racial or ethnic minorities. The school has also created groups for student minorities, including a Men in Nursing mentorship program and an interprofessional international student group.

Du Yun, a composition professor at Peabody Institute, was awarded the Centennial Medal by the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences of Harvard University. The Centennial Medal acknowledges alumni who have made outstanding contributions to society. It was first awarded in 1989 on the 100th anniversary of the school's founding and is the highest honor that Harvard's Graduate School of Arts and Sciences bestows.

Benjamin Schafer, the Willard and Lillian Hackerman Professor of Civil and Systems Engineering and director of the Ralph O'Connor Sustainable Energy Institute, known as ROSEI, has been selected to receive the 2024 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award from the American Institute of Steel Construction. The award honors an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper is considered a major contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. Schafer will give the final keynote address at the 2024 NASCC: The Steel Conference, set for March 20–22, 2024, in San Antonio.

Xin Chen, a professor of biology in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, was elected to the American Association for the Advancement of Science in recognition of her contributions to the field of epigenetics.

Joel Blankson, a professor of medicine and professor of molecular and comparative pathobiology in the School of Medicine, has been elected by the American Society of Microbiology as a 2023 fellow of the organization's American Academy of Microbiology. Election to the academy—an honorific leadership group and think tank within the ASM—is based on a person's "record of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology."

Peabody dance professor danah bella was named one of Musical America's 30 Professionals of the Year. Dubbed "The Resilient Warriors," these arts leaders and administrators, teaching artists, scholars, and performers "dealt with the pandemic and its aftereffects on the performing arts through game-changing innovation or endless toil, or both."

Posted in University News