Charles Bennett has been awarded one of the oldest and most celebrated awards in science, the Rumford Prize, by the American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Bennett is a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Alumni Centennial Professor, and a Johns Hopkins University Gilman Scholar in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, with a joint appointment at the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory. His efforts have helped establish a standard model of cosmology. He led NASA's Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe mission from 1996 to 2013.

A study co-authored by Tinglong Dai, a professor of operations management and business analytics at Carey Business School, was named a runner-up by the Financial Times Responsible Business Education Awards, which recognize work by business schools seeking to focus on people and the planet alongside profit. The study, "Does Transportation Mean Transplantation? Impact of New Airline Routes on Sharing of Cadaveric Kidneys," competed in the category Academic Research With Impact.

The Whiting School of Engineering's online graduate degree programs continue to be among the country's best, according to the latest U.S. News & World Report rankings. Overall, the school's online graduate programs in engineering occupy the No. 12 spot, and its online computer information technology programs maintained their place at No. 2. The specialty programs that rank among the top 10 are civil engineering, electrical and computer engineering, industrial/systems engineering, engineering management, and mechanical engineering.

Ellen J. MacKenzie, dean of the Bloomberg School of Public Health, has been appointed to the Commonwealth Fund Commission on a National Public Health System, a new, nonpartisan commission that will identify key steps for strengthening U.S. public health infrastructure at the federal, state, and local levels. Joshua Sharfstein, vice dean for public health practice and community engagement, will be a member of the team running the commission.

Otis Brawley, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor who has appointments in the schools of Medicine and Public Health, has been named by STAT as one of the country's most influential science thought leaders. The inaugural STATUS List—described as "the definitive accounting of leaders in the life sciences"—is composed of 46 individuals in the fields of academia, business, government, medicine, and nonprofit.

Jeremy D. Brown, an assistant professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering in the Whiting School, and Danielle Speller, an assistant professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the Krieger School, are among 118 researchers who received a Sloan Research Fellowship this year. Each will receive a two-year, $75,000 fellowship to advance their research.

Martha S. Jones, a history professor in the Krieger School, and Sean Jones, a professor and director of Jazz Studies at Peabody Institute, were recognized by The Baltimore Sun on a list of 25 Black Marylanders to Watch. Those named to the list were celebrated for their "fortitude, leadership, artistry, and efforts to uplift Baltimore and the state of Maryland."

Johns Hopkins University again led all U.S. universities in research and development spending in fiscal year 2020—the most recent year for which nationwide data is available—according to an annual National Science Foundation report. The university spent a record $3.1 billion—nearly twice as much as the next highest-spending institution. Expenditures for Johns Hopkins University include funding for the Applied Physics Laboratory, which totaled $1.9 billion in FY2020. Johns Hopkins has led all U.S. universities in R&D spending for 42 years in a row.

The Communications and Marketing team in the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School's Office of External Affairs has earned three inaugural Anthem Awards, presented by the Webbys, in recognition of its work across content platforms. A themed issue of Hopkins Bloomberg Public Health, titled Racism Is a Public Health Crisis, earned a Gold Award in the Diversity, Equity & Inclusion category. The school's social media accounts won a Silver Award in Education, Art & Culture, and its Public Health on Call podcast, launched in March 2020 at the start of the pandemic, took home a Silver Award in the Health category.

Nandita Balaji, a sophomore majoring in neuroscience in the Krieger School, took one of two grand prizes of $100,000 in the 2022 Arizona State University Innovation Open. The product she and her team developed is InfernoGuard, an early wildfire detection and warning system. Casey Grage, a graduate student in the Whiting School's Engineering for Professionals program, also won at ASUio, when her team received the $50,000 Human Health prize. Her product is Hubly Surgical, a cranial and orthopedic electric drill system designed to streamline bedside intracranial access and decrease reliance on the operating room.

Three School of Medicine faculty members are among 164 creators or co-developers elected as fellows of the National Academy of Inventors. They are Ronald Berger a professor of cardiology and of medicine; Ted Dawson, director of the Institute for Cell Engineering and a professor of neurology; and Jordan Green, director of the Biomaterials and Drug Delivery Laboratory and a professor of biomedical engineering. The new class of fellows collectively holds more than 4,800 U.S. patents.

Hahrie Han, inaugural director of the SNF Agora Institute at Johns Hopkins University and Stavros Niarchos Foundation Professor of Political Science, received a Schwab Foundation Social Innovation Thought Leader Award as part of the World Economic Forum's Davos Agenda. Han was recognized for her research on how to make social movements and organizing effective in revitalizing democracy.

Seven Johns Hopkins University researchers are among 564 distinguished scholars elected to the newest class of fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the world's largest general scientific society. From the School of Medicine are Deborah Jean Andrew, a professor of cell biology; Namandjé N. Bumpus, a professor and director of the Department of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences; and Elizabeth Marion Jaffee, a professor of oncology. From the Krieger School is David P. Goldberg, a professor of chemistry. From the Bloomberg School are Sabra L. Klein, a professor in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, and William W. Wright a professor emeritus in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. From the Whiting School is Marc Ostermeier, a professor in the Department of Chemical and Bio­molecular Engineering.