News and updates from JHU faculty

Arturo Casadevall, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, and neuroscientist Alex Kolodkin have been selected to join the National Academy of Sciences, which provides independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology. They are among 120 members and 30 international members selected this year. Casadevall holds appointments in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the Bloomberg School of Public Health and in the Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases, in the School of Medicine. Kolodkin is a professor in the Department of Neuroscience at the School of Medicine.

Alicia Wilson, vice president for economic development at Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins Health System, has been named to Savoy magazine's 2022 list of Most Influential Black Executives in Corporate America. Wilson was honored for her efforts to increase economic and social opportunity in Baltimore City.

Former U.S. Sen. Barbara Mikulski, D-Md., the Homewood Professor of Public Policy at Johns Hopkins, was one of two female senators celebrated at a dedication ceremony June 8 to rename rooms in the U.S. Capitol in their honor. Margaret Chase Smith, R-Maine, the first woman to serve in both chambers of Congress, was also honored; she died in 1995. Mikulski, who retired in 2017 after 45 years in the House and Senate, is the longest-serving woman in Congress and the first woman to be chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Cynda Rushton, a professor in the School of Nursing, has been selected to receive the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses Marguerite Rodgers Kinney Award for a Distinguished Career. The award recognizes Rushton's exceptional contributions that further AACN's mission and vision and her careerlong work that has enhanced the care of critically ill patients and families.

Michael Schatz, a computational biologist and one of the world's leading genomics experts, has been named to Time magazine's 2022 list of the 100 most influential people in the category of Innovators. A Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of computer science and biology, Schatz has appointments in the Whiting School of Engineering and the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. He and his Telomere to Telomere Consortium colleagues Adam Phillippy, Karen Miga, and Evan Eichler were honored for their contributions to the first complete sequencing of the human genome.

Christopher Myers, an associate professor of management and organization at Carey Business School, has been named to the Poets & Quants list of Best 40-under-40 Business School Professors for 2022. He helped found the school's Leadership Development Expeditions program and is the founding faculty director of the Center for Innovative Leadership. He holds a joint appointment in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine at the School of Medicine. Myers has received various awards and distinctions, including the No. 1 most-read Academy of Management Discoveries article of 2021.

Andreea Creanga, an associate professor in the Department of International Health in the Bloomberg School, and Alison Gemmill, an assistant professor in the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health in the school, have been invited to serve on the World Health Organization's Technical Advisory Group on Maternal Mortality and Maternal Cause of Death Estimation. The TAG plays a leading role in efforts to improve the measurement of maternal mortality worldwide.

Ge Bai, a professor of accounting in Carey Business School with a joint appointment in Health Policy and Management in the Bloomberg School, was appointed to the Congressional Budget Office's visiting scholar program. Visiting scholars conduct policy-related research, use the agency's data and facilities, and collaborate daily with CBO's staff members to contribute to the agency's analyses.

Biomedical engineer Jennifer Elisseeff and political scientist Hahrie Han are among the 261 scholars selected for membership this year in the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Membership in the academy is considered a career honor and recognizes individuals for their excellence and leadership. Elisseeff is director of the Translational Tissue Engineering Center and is a professor of biomedical engineering, ophthalmology, and orthopedic surgery at the School of Medicine. She holds an appointment in the Whiting School's Department of Materials Science and Engineering. Han is the inaugural director of the SNF Agora Institute at Johns Hopkins and a professor in the Department of Political Science in the Krieger School. She is a scholar of American politics specializing in the study of civic and political participation, social movements, collective action, and organizing. She is the faculty director of the P3 Research Lab, a multidisciplinary lab based at the SNF Agora Institute that probes questions related to civic participation, power, and collective action.

The Johns Hopkins Hospital is ranked No. 5 in the nation out of more than 4,500 hospitals reviewed for U.S. News & World Report's 2022–23 Best Hospitals list. The publication also ranked 10 specialties at Johns Hopkins among the top 10 in the nation, with Rheumatology at No. 1. Three Johns Hopkins Medicine member hospitals in Maryland and Washington were recognized in the regional rankings: Johns Hopkins Hospital ranked No. 1 overall in Maryland and in the Baltimore region. Sibley Memorial Hospital and Suburban Hospital tied for the No. 7 overall ranking in the Washington region; Suburban was also ranked No. 7 in Maryland.

Niloufar Nourbakhsh, a Peabody faculty artist and co-director of the Peabody Laptop Orchestra, won Beth Morrison Projects' Next Generation Competition, which includes a commission for the development and world premiere of a full-length opera.

Roland J. Thorpe Jr., a professor in the Department of Health, Behavior and Society in the Bloomberg School, has been elected to the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research. This is a society of leading senior scholars dedicated to advancing behavioral medicine, and election recognizes excellence in the field.

Sarah Ferguson has joined the Johns Hopkins University Investment Office as a director of investments. The office has responsibility for investing the endowments for the university, Johns Hopkins Hospital, and other related endowed entities, totaling more than $8 billion. Ferguson's responsibilities span the endowment and related portfolios. She comes to Johns Hopkins from the investment firm LMR Partners, where she was a treasury trader focused on repo financing and cash management.