Faculty news

Three renowned scholars have joined Johns Hopkins as Bloomberg Distinguished Professors. Jeff Coller, a groundbreaking genetics researcher, focuses on RNA biology and therapeutics. His work has led to fundamental shifts in the understanding of gene expression and to the creation of new therapeutics for treating genetic disorders. He holds appointments in the School of Medicine and the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. Ed Pearce, an expert in immunometabolism, joined the School of Medicine and the Bloomberg School of Public Health and has an appointment in the Bloomberg~Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy. He began his career studying type 2 immunity in humans caused by helminths, and now focuses on how the innate immune system is activated by a process called metabolic reprogramming. Erika Pearce, a molecular biologist whose groundbreaking research also focuses on the role of metabolism in immune system regulation, holds appointments in the School of Medicine and the Bloomberg~Kimmel Institute for Cancer Immunotherapy, as well as an appointment in the Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Jeanne-Marie Jackson, an associate professor and director of undergraduate studies in the Krieger School's English Department, is among 26 scholars named to the Andrew Carnegie Fellows class of 2021. The fellowship provides a $200,000 stipend to fund significant research and writing in the social sciences and humanities that address important and enduring issues confronting our society. With the award, Jackson will work on her third book, a literary biography of the Gold Coast statesman and writer J.E. Casely Hayford (1866–1930), as well as a teaching edition of his 1911 novel Ethiopia Unbound.

Denyce Graves, Rosa Ponselle Distinguished Faculty Artist at Peabody Institute, sang the role of Maria in the Metropolitan Opera's recording of Porgy and Bess from the 2019–20 season, which won the 2020 Grammy Award for Best Opera Recording.

Todd Shepard, a scholar of modern European and colonial North African history in the Krieger School, was recognized with a Guggenheim Fellowship in the category of European and Latin American History. An expert in the study of imperialism, Shepard is the author or co-editor of seven books and has three books currently under contract with publishers. The 2021 cohort of 184 fellows was selected from an applicant pool of almost 3,000.

Mario Macis, a professor of economics in Carey Business School and affiliate faculty of the Berman Institute of Bioethics, was named to a National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine panel of 17 experts examining issues related to human organ donation, a topic he has investigated in numerous research studies during the past decade.

Victoria O'Keefe, an associate director in the Center for American Indian Health, is the first holder of the Bloomberg School's Santosham Chair in Native American Health, named for the center's founding director, Mathuram Santosham. A member of the Cherokee and Seminole Nations of Oklahoma, O'Keefe became Johns Hopkins' first-ever tenure track faculty member of Native American heritage when she was appointed an assistant professor in the Department of International Health at the Bloomberg School in 2016.

Johns Hopkins historian Martha S. Jones, of the Krieger School, has been named to the Los Angeles Times' 41st annual Book Prizes list. Her book Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All (Basic Books, 2020) was recognized in the History category. The Los Angeles Times Book Prize aims to support new voices and celebrate the highest quality writing.

U.S. News & World Report rankings for best graduate programs placed Johns Hopkins at No. 1 in several categories: the School of Nursing's master's program; the Bloomberg School of Public Health; the biomedical engineering program, which is shared by the School of Medicine and the Whiting School of Engineering; and the departments of Radiology, Surgery, and Anesthesiology in the School of Medicine. The rankings are based on a number of indicators, including an institution's global and national reputation, publications and citations, research statistics, admitted student information, and other factors including leadership feedback from peer schools and programs.

Marc Kamionkowski, a Krieger School theoretical physicist, is one of three researchers to be awarded theĀ 2021 Gruber Cosmology Prize. Kamionkowski was recognized for the discovery of a mathematical means to use radiation from the cosmic microwave background to glean information about what happened as far back as the first fraction of a second of the universe's existence.

Marie T. Nolan, professor and executive vice dean of the Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing, took up her responsibilities as interim dean of the school in April, when Dean Patricia Davidson left Hopkins to become vice chancellor of the University of Wollongong. Nolan has served as associate dean for academic affairs, chair of the Department of Acute and Chronic Care, and director of the Nursing PhD program. An internationally renowned researcher, she has made significant contributions to the understanding of the decision-making processes of patients navigating critical illness. A national search, under the guidance of a search committee, is in progress to identify a permanent dean.

Ian Phillips, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of philosophy and of psychological and brain sciences in the Krieger School, is a co-winner of the 2021 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution. The prize recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of philosophy and is accompanied by an honorarium of $25,000. Lebowitz Prize winners must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy, which this year is "Perception, Consciousness, and the Self." Phillips and co-winner Ned Block, of New York University, will engage in a dialogue on this topic in January 2022 at the APA Central Division meeting in Chicago.

Daeyeol Lee, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of neuroscience and psychological and brain sciences in the School of Medicine and the Krieger School, has been awarded a Samsung Ho-Am Prize, one of the highest honors for Korean individuals or those of Korean origin. Lee, an international authority in neuroscience, received this year's prize in medicine. Recipients of the Samsung Ho-Am Prize are each presented with a diploma, a pure gold medal, and a cash prize of approximately $275,000.

Posted in University News