Five Johns Hopkins doctoral students have been selected to join the university's chapter of the Edward Alexander Bouchet Graduate Honor Society, which recognizes outstanding scholarly achievement and promotes diversity and excellence in doctoral education and the professoriate. This year's honorees are Gina Greenidge, of Materials Science & Engineering in the Whiting School of Engineering; Bianca Hand, of History of Art in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences; Dorian Jackson, of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology in the Bloomberg School of Public Health; Emerald Jenkins, in the School of Nursing; and Anna Moyer, of Physiology in the School of Medicine.

The Johns Hopkins offices of communications for the university and the Bloomberg School of Public Health garnered a total of seven awards, including a platinum and two golds, in the 2021 CASE Circle of Excellence competition. The Circle of Excellence awards showcase outstanding work in advancement services, alumni relations, communications, fundraising, and marketing.

The Johns Hopkins Hospital is ranked No. 4 in the nation out of more than 4,500 hospitals reviewed for U.S. News & World Report's 2021–22 Best Hospitals list, which was released in July. The publication also ranked 12 specialties at Johns Hopkins among the top 10 in the nation, including two—psychiatry and rheumatology—at No. 1. All five Johns Hopkins Medicine member hospitals in Maryland and Washington were recognized in the regional rankings, with Johns Hopkins Hospital named No. 1 overall in Maryland and in Baltimore.

Tinglong Dai, an associate professor of operations management and business analytics in Carey Business School, was named one of the best 40 under 40 business school professors by Poets & Quants. He is on the core faculty and leadership team of the Hopkins Business of Health Initiative and holds joint faculty appointments in the Johns Hopkins School of Nursing and the Johns Hopkins Institute for Data Intensive Engineering and Science.

Virginia Roach, executive director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth, is this year's recipient of the New York Academy of Public Education's Medalist Award. Established in 1935, it is the academy's highest award, given annually to one individual who demonstrates a commitment to improving the public education system. Last spring, Roach was featured on the list of Top 35 Women in Higher Ed published by Diverse: Issues in Higher Education.

Marin Alsop, director of Graduate Conducting at Peabody Institute, is the subject of a documentary titled The Conductor, which premiered as a Viewpoint film at the 2021 Tribeca Film Festival in mid-June. Written and directed by Krieger School media studies Professor Bernadette Wegenstein, the film was shot in part on Peabody's campus and at Peabody's 2018 performance of Leonard Bernstein's Mass.

Jeff W. M. Bulte, a professor of radiology and radiological science and director of Cellular Imaging at the Johns Hopkins Institute for Cell Engineering in the School of Medicine, has been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering's College of Fellows. Bulte was nominated, reviewed, and elected by peers and members of the college for outstanding contributions in the development and use of cell-tracking techniques.

Somnath Ghosh, a professor in Civil and Systems Engineering in the Whiting School, received a 2021 J. Tinsley Oden Medal from the U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics. The award recognizes outstanding contributions to computational science, engineering, and mathematics. Ghosh's research focuses on computational mechanics modeling and includes emerging fields such as integrated computational materials engineering.

Sarah Adams Hoover, associate dean for innovation, interdisciplinary partnerships, and community initiatives at Peabody, has published her first book, Music as Care: Artistry in the Hospital Environment. The book, out from Routledge, provides an overview of professional musicians working within the health care system.

Albert Wu, a professor in Health Policy and Management at the Bloomberg School, was selected as one of The Daily Record's 2021 COVID-19 Heroes in recognition of his professional achievement and community involvement, and for being an inspiration for change and having an impact on the quality of health care in Maryland.

Elizabeth Selvin, a professor in Epidemiology in the Bloomberg School, has received a $2.6 million, five-year grant from the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases to study how a modified DASH diet might affect glucose patterns in adults with type 2 diabetes.

Peter G. Johnson, chief nursing and midwifery officer at Jhpiego until his retirement in the spring, and Pandora Hardtman, who succeeded Johnson in this position, received awards from the American College of Nurse-Midwives. Johnson, who is also a researcher and faculty member at the School of Nursing, was honored with the Lifetime Visionary Award. His work has focused on strengthening midwifery educational systems on three continents while promoting the next generation of midwifery leaders. Hardtman was a recipient of the prestigious Dorothea M. Lang Pioneer Award for her vision, leadership, and innovation in elevating midwifery.

Jean Fan, an assistant professor in Biomedical Engineering at the Whiting School, and Vishal Patel, an assistant professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, have each received the National Science Foundation's CAREER Award, which recognizes early-stage scholars with high levels of promise and excellence. Fan's research focuses on understanding the spatial-contextual and other regulatory mechanisms that shape cellular identity and heterogeneity, with a special emphasis on cancer. Patel and his team will develop data-driven learning-based approaches for restoration and understanding of images degraded by atmospheric turbulence.

Erin Michos, an associate professor in the Division of Cardiology in the School of Medicine, has been named co-editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Preventive Cardiology, which was launched last year by the American Society for Preventive Cardiology.

Bonnielin Swenor, an associate professor of ophthalmology at Wilmer Eye Institute, has been inducted into the Susan B. Daniels Disability Mentoring Hall of Fame. The honor was based on Swenor's commitment to mentoring and the impact of her mentoring efforts on supporting racial justice, disability justice, and/or issues related to COVID-19 that affected the disability community.

Posted in University News