Alexander Szalay, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor with appointments in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and the Whiting School of Engineering, is one of three recipients of the 2020 Viktor Ambartsumian International Science Prize. The award is given every two years to outstanding scientists from any country and nationality who have made significant contributions in astronomy/astrophysics and related sciences. Szalay is being recognized "for his pioneering work on demonstrating that the dark matter in the universe might be a neutral, weakly interacting particle and for his contributions to data-driven, statistical cosmology."

Daniel Polsky, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in the Carey Business School and Bloomberg School of Public Health, has been named to a committee that will advise policymakers in the United States and abroad on how to equitably distribute vaccines for SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19. The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and the National Academy of Medicine formed the committee. Polsky, an expert in health care policy and health economics, is one of its 15 members.

The Johns Hopkins Hospital is once again ranked No. 3 in the nation out of more than 4,500 hospitals reviewed for U.S. News & World Report's 2020–21 Best Hospitals list. The publication also ranked 12 of the hospital's specialties among the top 10 in the nation, with four—Ear, Nose, and Throat; Neurology and Neurosurgery; Psychiatry; and Rheumatology—ranked No. 1. Hopkins was also named best hospital in Maryland.

Lawrence M. Principe, Drew Professor of the Humanities and director of the Singleton Center for the Study of Premodern Europe in the Department of History of Science and Technology in the Krieger School, was awarded the HIST Award of the History of Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society.

Jason Farley, a professor in the School of Nursing, and Mona Shattell, an associate dean in the school, were inducted into the Sigma International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame in July. The honor signifies their lifetime achievements in nursing, contributions to research, and mentoring of future nurse researchers. Shattell also received the 2020 Jeanette Chamberlain Psychiatric Leadership Award from the International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses.

The Johns Hopkins Office of Communications has been recognized for excellence in video storytelling with an Emmy Award from the National Capital chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences. Len Turner, creative services director, and David Schmelick, a senior video producer, received the award for "A Nobel Journey," a series of videos documenting Hopkins researcher Gregg Semenza's 2019 Nobel Prize at ceremonies in Stockholm. The Emmy was presented during a virtual ceremony on August 9.

Robert Higgins, chair of the Department of Surgery and professor of medicine in the School of Medicine, will be inaugurated as president of the Society of Surgical Chairs at the group's annual meeting in October.

Daniel Trahey, a Peabody Preparatory faculty artist, has received a two-year fellowship from the Jubilation Foundation, which funds teaching artists and organizations with an exceptional talent for bringing joy to people through music and movement, particularly in communities with the least access. Trahey recently created the Collective Conservatory to facilitate access to music and music education during the pandemic.

N. Peter Armitage and Collin Broholm, both professors in the Krieger School's Department of Physics and Astronomy, have received competitive awards from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation to explore fundamental aspects of quantum materials. Armitage and Broholm will each receive $1.6 million over five years to develop new techniques for measuring intrinsic quantum mechanical correlations in solids.

Stefanie DeLuca, a professor of social policy and sociology in the Krieger School, has been elected to the Sociological Research Association, an honor that recognizes her as one of the most successful researchers in her field. DeLuca's work focuses on urban poverty, race, housing, and educational inequality. She directs the Poverty and Inequality Research Lab at Johns Hopkins.

Computerworld released its 2020 ranking of the top 100 work environments for technology professionals, and the Johns Hopkins Applied Physics Laboratory and IT@JH are among the large organizations named to its list of Best Places to Work in IT. APL ranked 11th among large firms, up from 16th for the two prior years, and was second overall for both training and career development. IT@JH which appears on the list as Johns Hopkins Medicine, was ranked No. 37 among large organizations.

Marc Kamionkowski, William R. Kenan Jr. Professor; Adam Riess, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, Thomas J. Barber Professor of Physics and Astronomy, and Krieger Eisenhower Professor of Physics and Astronomy; Joseph Silk, research professor and Homewood Professor of Physics and Astronomy; and Rosemary Wyse, Alumni Centennial Professor, were named to the inaugural class of American Astronomical Society fellows. They are all members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy in the Krieger School.

David Yarkony, chair and D. Mead Johnson Professor of Chemistry in the Krieger School, received the American Chemical Society's 2020 award in theoretical chemistry for his work "demonstrating the significance and properties of conical intersections of two or more adiabatic electronic states."

Dale M. Needham, a professor of pulmonary medicine in the School of Medicine and medical director of the Critical Care Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Program, has been awarded honorary membership in the American Physical Therapy Association, the highest honor awarded to non–physical therapists by the APTA.

Carey Priebe, a professor in the Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics in the Whiting School, has been elected a fellow of the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, a recognition of his outstanding research and leadership in the field of statistics.

René Vidal, a professor in Biomedical Engineering, a department shared by the Whiting School and the School of Medicine, has been elected to the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering's College of Fellows. AIMBE fellows are considered the most distinguished and accomplished leaders in the fields of medical and biological engineering, and are chosen for making contributions to those fields that have the potential to change the world. Vidal was recognized for outstanding contributions to medical image analysis and medical robotics.