Mauro Maggioni, whose work explores mathematical techniques for analyzing, modeling, and extracting information from large data sets, was named the Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Data Intensive Computation in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences' Department of Mathematics and the Whiting School of Engineering's Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics. The 20th BDP to be appointed, he joins Johns Hopkins from Duke University.

Solomon Snyder, Distinguished Service Professor of Neuroscience, Pharmacology, and Psychiatry, received the Salk Institute Medal for Research Excellence, a distinction bestowed just twice before in the institute's 55-year history.

U.S. News & World Report's 2016 rankings of Best Graduate Schools placed several Johns Hopkins programs at or near the top of the list: Biomedical Engineering, a program run jointly by the Whiting School and the School of Medicine, held its long-standing No. 1 spot; the School of Nursing master's program moved from a second place tie to No. 1; the School of Medicine tied for third place for research-focused medical schools; and the School of Education tied for second place.

Carol Greider, the Daniel Nathans Professor and Director of the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics in the School of Medicine, was elected to membership in the American Philosophical Society. Greider shared the 2009 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine for her discovery in 1984 of telomerase, an enzyme that maintains protective "caps" on the ends of chromosomes.

The American Academy of Arts & Sciences elected among its 213 new members two Johns Hopkins professors: Andrew Cherlin, a professor of sociology in the Krieger School, and Alex Kolodkin, a professor of neuroscience in the School of Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator.

Andrew Cherlin was also one of four Johns Hopkins professors newly elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The others are Timothy Heckman, a professor and chairman of the Krieger School's Department of Physics and Astronomy; Kenneth Kinzler, a professor of oncology and co-director of the Ludwig Center at the Kimmel Cancer Center; and Geraldine Seydoux, a professor in the School of Medicine's Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics., the university's website designed and developed by staff members in the Office of Communications, received three prizes: a People's Voice Webby Award in the School/University category and two American Business Awards, or Stevies—a gold in the Non-Profit Organizations category and a silver in the Best Overall Design category.

Midori¬†was named a Distinguished Visiting Artist at Peabody Institute for the 2016–17 season. The legendary violinist will visit the school to conduct master classes at both the Conservatory and Preparatory.

The National Cancer Institute named cancer immunologist Elizabeth Jaffee, of the School of Medicine, as one of three co-chairs of an NCI blue ribbon panel. The 28-member group and other experts will help guide Vice President Joe Biden's $1 billion moonshot to cure cancer.

Alexis Battle, an assistant professor in the Whiting School's Department of Computer Science, is one of 15 researchers in the chemical and biological sciences who have been named 2016 Searle Scholars. She will receive $300,000 in flexible funding to support her work during the next three years.

Peter Agre, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and director of the Johns Hopkins Malaria Institute, received the Kober Medal, the highest honor bestowed by the Association of American Physicians. The AAP also elected as new members eight professors in the schools of Medicine and Public Health: William Bishai, Richard Chaisson, Josef Coresh, Diane Griffin, Elizabeth Jaffee, Peter Pronovost, Robert Siliciano, and Suzanne Topalian.

George Kennedy, head coach of the men's and women's swim teams since 1985, has been honored with the 2016 Speedo Lifetime Achievement Award from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America.

Michael Fried, a professor in the Humanities Center in the Krieger School, was named by the French Ministry of Culture and Communication a Chevalier de l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, an honor that recognizes Fried's decades of important scholarship in the areas of French painting, art criticism, and literature.

Carey Business School named Phillip Phan the inaugural Alonzo and Virginia Decker Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship. Phan holds a joint appointment in the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality at the School of Medicine.

Andrea Gielen, director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy in the Bloomberg School, received the 2016 Elizabeth Fries Health Education Award for preventing injuries among women and children.

Michael Shields, an assistant professor in Civil Engineering in the Whiting School, and Tamer Zaki, an associate professor in the school's Department of Mechanical Engineering, have each been selected to receive a 2016 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award.

Rebecca Schulman, an assistant professor in the Whiting School's Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, is among 49 young scientists across the country to be awarded grants from the U.S. Energy Department's Office of Science under the agency's Early Career Research Program. She will receive $750,000 over the next five years for work on designing hydrogels, polymer materials resilient to different types of damage.

Peabody Composition faculty member Sean Shepherd was honored with an Arts and Letters Award in Music by the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Marc Kamionkowski, a professor of physics and astronomy in the Krieger School, was elected a fellow of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation.

The team behind NASA's APL-based New Horizons mission to Pluto continues to garner awards. Recently, it received Aviation Week's 2016 Laureate Award for space exploration, the American Astronomical Society's Neil Armstrong Space Flight Achievement Award, the Dr. Robert H. Goddard Memorial Trophy from the National Space Club, the National Air and Space Museum's Trophy for Current Achievement, and an international Edison Award for Science.

Paul Pineau was appointed vice president and general counsel of Johns Hopkins University. Pineau, who has held the position on an interim basis since August, will lead the General Counsel's Office, providing legal advice to the trustees, leadership, and all university divisions and assisting in the development and implementation of university policy.

Posted in University News