Economist Paul Ferraro was named a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor, with appointments in the Carey Business School and the Whiting School of Engineering's Department of Geography and Engineering. He has brought to Hopkins the USDA Center for Behavioral and Experimental Agri-Environmental Research, which he co-directs. Among his research goals is working across divisions to clarify how societies can best address the increasing scarcity of clean water.

President Ronald J. Daniels is one of four university presidents chosen by the Carnegie Corporation of New York to receive its 2015 Academic Leadership Award. The honor, given biennially, includes a $500,000 grant to each of the winners' institutions to be spent at the honorees' discretion to promote their academic priorities.

Sara Bleich, an associate professor in the Bloomberg School of Public Health specializing in obesity, and Shereef Elnahal, A&S '07, a radiation oncology resident at Johns Hopkins Hospital, were appointed White House Fellows, a prestigious award that brings them for one year to Washington to be involved in the process of government. Bleich is placed at the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Elnahal at the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Fannie Gaston-Johansson, a professor emerita in the School of Nursing, received the honor of Living Legend, the highest distinction of the American Academy of Nursing. Her work includes research on the aftereffects of breast cancer treatment for African-American women and end-of-life and pain-management issues.

Amy Tsui, a senior scholar at the Bill & Melinda Gates Institute for Population and Reproductive Health at the Bloomberg School, has been elected president of the Population Association of America.

Cosmologist Alexander Szalay, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in the Krieger School's Department of Physics and Astronomy and the Whiting School's Department of Computer Science, received the IEEE Computer Society's 2015 Sidney Fernbach Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions in the application of high-performance computers.

Johns Hopkins University's student-run newspaper, The News-Letter, received a 2015 Pacemaker award from the Associated Collegiate Press. The award is the highest honor in college journalism.

Ellen MacKenzie, chair of Health Policy and Management in the Bloomberg School, received the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award in Trauma Resuscitation Science from the American Heart Association and the American Stroke Association.

Eric Rice, an assistant professor in the School of Education, received a Beacon of Light Award from the Baltimore Teacher Network. He was recognized for his advocacy of teacher voice, equality in education and increased funding of schools, positive media reporting of student issues, and education support through community partnerships.

Kenneth W. Kinzler, a professor in the School of Medicine and co-director of the Ludwig Center at the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center, is one of 80 new members elected to the National Academy of Medicine.

Xiomara Calderón-ColónGina Marshall-Johnson, and Deanna Green, all of the Applied Physics Laboratory, received 2015 Women of Color Technology Awards during the 20th Annual Women of Color STEM Conference, held in October in Detroit.

Russell Taylor, a professor in the Whiting School's Department of Computer Science, with a joint appointment in Mechanical Engineering and in the School of Medicine, was awarded the 2015 Honda Prize, Japan's first international science and technology award, established in 1980. Taylor was honored for his role in the early development of medical robotics technology, his mentoring of students and other researchers in the field, and his continuing contributions.

Nassir Navab, a professor in the Whiting School's Department of Computer Science, won the 10 Years Lasting Impact Award at the International Symposium on Mixed and Augmented Reality. He was honored for contributions to augmented reality, with a particular focus on medical augmented reality.

The Office of Marketing and Communications for Johns Hopkins Medicine received a Public Relations Society of America National Capital Chapter's Thoth Award for excellence in crisis communications. The award recognizes the office's response to the 2014–15 Ebola outbreak in West Africa.

A work by Judah Adashi, a faculty member in Peabody's Composition and Music Theory departments, premiered as part of the American Composers Orchestra's SONiC Festival, held in October at Carnegie Hall in New York City.

A combination of private donations and state funding through the Maryland E-Nnovation Initiative has established two new professorships. Hal Dietz, a professor of pediatric cardiology in the School of Medicine, will hold the Reta Honey-Hiers Professorship for Tarlov Cyst Disease. Kellogg Schwab, a professor of environmental health sciences in the Bloomberg School and director of the JHU Water Institute, will hold a new professorship in water and public health.

Claude Migeon, a professor of pediatrics, received the International Award from the European Society for Paediatric Endocrinology. He is a leading researcher in the study and care of patients with abnormalities of sex differentiation and congenital adrenal hyperplasia, and he continues to study the long-term outcomes of individuals with these disorders.

Kay Redfield Jamison, a professor in Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences in the School of Medicine, is the co-recipient of the 2015 Rhoda and Bernard Sarnat International Prize in Mental Health from the National Academy of Medicine. She was honored for her major insights into mood disorders and suicide.

Two Nursing faculty members—Associate Professor Jennifer Wenzel and Assistant Professor Sharon Kozachik—were named fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. Laura Gitlin, an applied research sociologist and professor in Community-Public Health, was named an honorary fellow. Gitlin was also invited to serve as a member of the HHS Advisory Council on Alzheimer's Research, Care, and Services.

Martin Makary, a professor of surgery in the School of Medicine, received the National Pancreas Foundation's 2015 Nobility in Science award, which recognizes achievements in pancreatic research and treatment.

Daniel Webster, a professor in Health Policy and Management in the Bloomberg School and director of the Center for Gun Policy and Research, received the American Public Health Association's David P. Rall Award for Advocacy in Public Health for his work on injury and gun violence prevention.

Posted in University News