Three new Bloomberg Distinguished Professors joined the faculty on July 1. Sociologist Stephen Morgan holds appointments in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and the School of Education; Patricia Janak joins the Psychological and Brain Sciences Department in the Krieger School and the Department of Neuroscience in the School of Medicine; and Kathleen Sutcliffe has appointments in the Carey Business School and the School of Medicine's Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety.

Marc Kamionkowski, a theoretical physicist and professor in the Krieger School, has been named a Simons Investigator in theoretical physics. The award, given to six physicists this year, will provide $100,000 a year for five years and may be extended another five years. Kamionkowski is a cosmologist who is developing theories about how the universe was formed. Simons Investigators were also named in the fields of mathematics, theoretical computer science, and mathematical modeling of living systems.

Baltimore-area commercial real estate developer Erwin L. Greenberg and his wife, Stephanie Cooper Greenberg, have pledged $15 million to create the Johns Hopkins Greenberg Bladder Cancer Institute. Their gift is part of a $45 million coinvestment with Johns Hopkins University.

A new opera by Peabody faculty member Michael Hersch, On the Threshold of Winter, received its world premiere in June at the Brooklyn Academy of Music. Soprano and faculty artist Ah Young Hong performed the two-hour work with the Nunc music ensemble. Roger Brunyate, former head of Opera at Peabody, directed the performance.

Cynda Hylton Rushton, professor of clinical ethics in the Berman Institute of Biomedical Ethics, has been elected a fellow of the Hastings Center. Hastings Fellows are experts from diverse disciplines who have been influential in the field of bioethics. Rushton holds joint appointments as a professor in the School of Nursing's Department of Acute and Chronic Care and the School of Medicine's Department of Pediatrics.

Paul B. Rothman, dean of the School of Medicine, vice president for medicine of Johns Hopkins University, and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, has been named president of the Association of American Physicians. This year, five of the 62 new AAP members are from Johns Hopkins: Lisa Cooper, Jeremy Nathans, William Nelson, Hamid Rabb, and Jeffrey Rothstein.

Two Johns Hopkins researchers have received awards from the Pew Charitable Trusts. Robert J. Johnston, an assistant professor in Biology in the Krieger School, is one of 22 biomedical scientists selected as part of the 2014 Pew Scholars Program in the Biomedical Sciences. He uses the fruit fly eye to study how cells randomly choose their fates during development. Andrew J. Holland, an assistant professor of molecular biology in the School of Medicine, is one of five named to the inaugural class of Pew-Stewart Scholars for Cancer Research. His research focuses on the molecular mechanisms that control the number of centrosomes in a dividing cell. Each award comes with a grant of $60,000 a year for four years.

Pamela Paulk, senior vice president for human resources at Johns Hopkins Medicine, was recognized as a Champion of Change in a ceremony at the White House. She was honored for her work and advocacy in the hiring of qualified ex-offenders.

Robert Black, a professor in International Health in the Bloomberg School of Public Health, was awarded the Dr. C. Gopalan Oration Gold Medal from the Nutrition Society of India for outstanding contributions in the field of nutritional sciences.

Benjamin Langmead, an assistant professor in Computer Science in the Whiting School of Engineering, has received a National Science Foundation CAREER Award, which recognizes excellence in early-stage scholars. The five-year grant will support his work developing computational and statistical methods for analyzing DNA sequencing data in order to provide faster, more accurate, more interpretable results to scientists studying organisms with repetitive genomes.

Laura Taylor, an assistant professor in Acute and Chronic Care in the School of Nursing, was one of 20 nurse educators selected for induction into the National League for Nursing's Academy of Nursing Education. As a fellow, she will mentor new educators and those who want to become nursing faculty.

The Applied Physics Laboratory has announced its Invention of the Year for 2013: a method for quickly predicting the evolution of viruses. Created by Andrew Feldman and Jeffrey Lin, the method speeds up the development of new vaccines and can predict new viruses before they exist.

A $1 million gift by Baltimore philanthropists Robert E. Meyerhoff and Rheda Becker has established the Leon Fleisher Studio Scholarship Fund to provide scholarships for students of renowned pianist and Peabody faculty artist Leon Fleisher.

Mariale Hardiman is the School of Education's new vice dean of academic affairs. She replaced Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy who is joining the Provost's Office as vice provost for faculty affairs.

Diane Griffin, a professor and chair of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology in the School of Public Health, received the Rudolf Virchow Medal from the University of W├╝rzburg in Germany, where she delivered an honorary lecture.

Veena Das, a professor of anthropology, received the annual Nessim Habif World Prize, awarded by the University of Geneva in recognition of important contributions to the field of anthropology.

Former president Bill Clinton visited the Bloomberg School to participate in a town hall discussion regarding prescription drug abuse. The event was hosted by the Bloomberg School and the Clinton Foundation's Health Matters Initiative.

Mathuram Santosham, a professor in International Health in the Bloomberg School, was awarded the 2014 Sabin Gold Medal for his role in the prevention of Haemophilus influenzae type b, or Hib, diseases. His leadership in conducting groundbreaking research, vaccine efficacy trials, and advocacy to prioritize Hib vaccines spans more than 40 years and has saved millions of children's lives.

Rengaswamy Srinivasan, a battery specialist and electrochemist for APL's Research and Exploratory Development Department, was named a Master Inventor for the 10 patents he has been issued while working at the Lab.

Johns Hopkins Magazine won a gold award for periodical staff writing in this year's Council for Advancement and Support of Education Circle of Excellence national competition. The Gazette's April issue was awarded a bronze for its cover, and the Center for Talented Youth's 2013 annual report won awards in two divisions: a gold in the Annual Reports and Fund Reports division and a bronze in President's Reports and Annual Reports (print).

The Peabody Symphony, Concert, and Modern orchestras are among the 27 American orchestras that were honored with 2013–14 awards from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers for Adventurous Programming in the Collegiate Orchestras division.

Andrea Prosperetti, a professor of mechanical engineering in the Whiting School, has been awarded the Euromech Fluid Mechanics Prize by the Council of the European Mechanics Society. The award cited his contributions to "fluid dynamics and acoustics in general and to bubble dynamics and rain noise in particular."