Whiting School faculty in the news

Ioannis "Yannis" Kevrekidis, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor in the departments of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and Applied Mathematics and Statistics, is the recipient of the 2023 William H. Walker Award for Excellence in Contributions to Chemical Engineering Literature, which will be presented at the 2023 AIChE Annual Meeting in November.

Yayuan Liu, an assistant professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, has been chosen to receive a 2023 Beckman Young Investigator Award from the Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation. Her project is "Developing correlative fluorescence microscopy as a new characterization platform for electrochemical materials and processes." The 11 awardees were selected from a pool of nearly 200 applicants after a three-part review led by a panel of scientific experts. Each will receive $600,000 over four years.

Olysha Magruder, director of learning design and faculty development for the Center for Learning Design and Technology, has won a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Award. Her project's goal is to "develop and support opportunities for the faculty at Dublin City University and Johns Hopkins University's Whiting School of Engineering to learn from each other about the best practices in online and blended teaching and learning, build a community of practice through a technology-enabled approach to collaboration, and share the resulting knowledge within the professional community."

Benjamin Schafer, the Willard and Lillian Hackerman Professor of Civil and Systems Engineering and director of the Ralph O'Connor Sustainable Energy Institute, known as ROSEI, has been selected to receive the 2024 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award from the American Institute of Steel Construction. The award honors an outstanding lecturer and author whose technical paper is considered a major contribution to the engineering literature on fabricated structural steel. Schafer will give the final keynote address at the 2024 NASCC: The Steel Conference, to be held in March 2024 in San Antonio.

Rebecca Schulman, an associate professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering and the Kent Gordon Croft Investment Management Faculty Scholar, has received a 2023 Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship from the Department of Defense. Her project will investigate whether engineers can create complex machines and materials using some of the organizational principles found in living things.

Alan Stone, a professor in Environmental Health and Engineering, was awarded the Charles O'Melia Distinguished Educator Award from the Association of Environmental Engineers and Science Professors Foundation, which recognizes an environmental engineering professor who has a record of excellent teaching in the classroom and an outstanding record of mentoring students and colleagues. Charles O'Melia, for whom the award is named, was a longtime Johns Hopkins professor; he earlier served on the faculties of Georgia Tech, Harvard, and the University of North Carolina.

Sara Thoi, a core researcher for ROSEI as well as an associate professor in the Krieger School's Department of Chemistry, has received the American Chemical Society Harry Gray Award for Creative Work in Inorganic Chemistry by a Young Investigator. The award recognizes creative and impactful work by a young investigator in a forefront area of inorganic chemistry. Thoi focuses on two areas of research: catalysis, which involves developing new systems that can convert abundant chemical feedstocks into valuable products, and lithium-sulfur battery storage, which aims to improve the reliability, portability, durability, and modularity of current battery technology.

Thi Vo, an assistant professor in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, is the recipient of a Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award. His project, "Supramolecular engineering first principles driven sequence design of hybrid polymers," aims to fill critical gaps in the knowledge of macromolecular self-assembly."

Posted in News+Info