Andre Gielen and Keshia Pollack Porter recognized as among 10 most influential women scholars in health promotion

Also receiving recent honors: Debarati Guha-Sapir, Sabra Klein, Yang Liu, Rubayet Elahi, and Melissa Walls

Andrea Gielen, a professor emerita, and Keshia Pollack Porter, a professor and chair of Health Policy and Management, have been named two of the 10 most influential women scholars in health promotion by the American Journal of Health Promotion. Gielen is known for her expertise in principles of health behavior change and program evaluation, as well as for her research into health policies and practices designed to prevent injuries, improve maternal and child health, and reduce domestic and sexual violence. Pollack Porter is lauded as an active policy researcher, trusted adviser, administrator, leader, and mentor, and is praised for her work on the health and safety of firefighters, transportation safety for both employees and passengers, and workplace health and safety.

Debarati Guha-Sapir, senior associate in International Health, is among the winners of the 2023 Blue Planet Prize. She led the development of the Emergency Events Database, the first data infrastructure of major global disasters caused by climate change, biological disasters such as pandemics, and humanitarian disasters such as conflicts. EM-DAT currently serves as a scientific foundation for evidence-based policymaking used by many international organizations, national governments, and research institutes working on climate change mitigation and adaptation measures, as well as disaster prevention and mitigation.

Sabra Klein, a professor in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, recently received the 2023 Vivian Pinn Award for Excellence in Women's Health Research, recognizing Klein's 23 years of research in the area of sex differences in viral infections. Vivian Pinn was the first Black woman to chair an academic pathology department in the U.S. and the first full-time director of the Office of Research on Women's Health at the NIH.

Yang Liu and Rubayet Elahi, postdoctoral fellows, are the recipients of this year's Graham Memorial Fund Award. This prestigious award provides support to postdoctoral fellows engaged in foundational or translational research that integrates perspectives from both medicine and public health.

Melissa Walls, co-director of the Center for Indigenous Health, received the Advances in Culture and Diversity in Prevention Science Award from the Society for Prevention Research. The award recognizes Walls' research, which centers Indigenous culture as a source of health promotion and strength-based prevention and healing of diseases that are the result of historical traumas and cultural oppression.

Posted in News+Info