Recent news from the School of Nursing

Read about Teresa Brockie, Cynda Rushton, Nancy G. Russell, Michelle Kahn-John, Binu Koirala, Tamar Rodney, and Erin Wright

Teresa Brockie, an associate professor, was admitted to the Betty Irene Moore Fellowship for Nurse Leaders and Innovators, a national program at UC Davis that seeks to develop the next generation of nursing leadership. Fellows receive $450,000 in funding over three years to pursue a project or study, plus $50,000 for their home institution; gather annually at UC Davis for a week-long convocation; and participate in an online learning community throughout the three-year period. Brockie's research focuses on promoting health equity through community-based prevention and intervention services for trauma and suicide in vulnerable populations.

Cynda Rushton, the Anne and George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics and a founding member of Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics, received the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses 2023 Distinguished Research Lecturer award. She presented her lecture in May during AACN's annual conference, National Teaching Institute & Critical Care Exposition. The American Journal of Critical Care published an abstract of Rushton's presentation in its May issue and the complete manuscript in July.

Nancy G. Russell, an assistant professor, was reelected as the Region IV representative to the board of directors of the American College Health Association Board.

Michelle Kahn-John, research associate, and Binu Koirala, Tamar Rodney, and Erin Wright, all assistant professors, have been selected for induction as fellows of the American Academy of Nursing.

Posted in News+Info