Bloomberg School faculty in the news

Recognition for Arturo Casadevall, Joanne Kenen, and Alain Labrique

Arturo Casadevall, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor and the Alfred and Jill Sommer Professor and chair of the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. Scientists are elected by their peers to membership in the NAS for outstanding contributions to research. Casadevall's work focuses on the origin and development of fungal and bacterial diseases and how organisms respond to infection. He has made major contributions to our understanding of how fungi evade immune responses in hosts and has proposed and developed therapeutic strategies for a variety of human diseases, including melanoma and infectious diseases such as tuberculosis and COVID-19.

Joanne Kenen, the Commonwealth Fund journalist-in-residence at the Bloomberg School, was selected as a finalist for the National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation's General Circulation Journalism Award for her reporting on why COVID devastated state-run Veterans Affairs homes.

Alain Labrique, a professor in the Department of International Health, was named the inaugural editor-in-chief of Oxford Open Digital Health. This new journal publishes outstanding scholarship in digital health and innovation, with a particular focus on low- and middle-income countries and a commitment to promote author and editorial equity and representation.

Posted in News+Info