Krieger School faculty in the news

Honors for Aaron Hyman, Daeyeol Lee, Ian Phillips, and Todd Shepard

Aaron Hyman, an assistant professor in the Department of History of Art, has been awarded two grants to support publication of his book Rubens in Repeat: The Logic of the Copy in Colonial Latin America (forthcoming in August, Getty Research Institute). The book received both the Historians of Netherlandish Art fellowship and a Wyeth Foundation for American Art Publication grant.

Daeyeol Lee, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Neuroscience and Psychological and Brain Sciences, has been awarded a Samsung Ho-Am Prize, one of the highest honors for Korean individuals or those of Korean origin. The prize is presented annually in six categories to people "who have contributed to academics, the arts, and social development, or who have furthered the welfare of humanity through distinguished accomplishments in their respective professional fields," according to the Ho-Am Foundation website. Lee, an international authority in neuroscience, received this year's prize in medicine. He identified neural mechanisms of decision-making by incorporating economics into neuroscientific research using nonhuman primates as subjects. Widely considered the father of neuroeconomics, he integrated a range of academic disciplines that improve understanding of neuropsychiatric disorders and offer more possibilities for treatment. Recipients of the Samsung Ho-Am Prize are each presented with a diploma, a pure gold medal, and a cash prize of KRW 300 million (approximately $275,000).

Ian Phillips, a Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of philosophy and psychological and brain sciences, is a co-winner of the 2021 Dr. Martin R. Lebowitz and Eve Lewellis Lebowitz Prize for Philosophical Achievement and Contribution. Awarded annually by the Phi Beta Kappa Society in conjunction with the American Philosophical Association, the prize recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of philosophy. Each winner receives an honorarium of $25,000. Lebowitz Prize winners must be two philosophers who hold contrasting views on a chosen topic of current interest in philosophy, which this year is "Perception, Consciousness, and the Self." Phillips and co-winner Ned Block, of New York University, will engage in a dialogue on this topic in January 2022 at the APA Central Division meeting in Chicago. Phillips' areas of interest include the nature of perception; its relations to memory, imagination, and belief; the scientific study of consciousness; and our experience of time. He is the editor of The Routledge Handbook of Philosophy of Temporal Experience (Routledge, 2017).

Todd Shepard, a professor of history, has been named a John Simon Guggenheim Fellow to work on his project titled "Affirmative Action and the End of Empires: France, Algeria, and the Race Question in the Era of Decolonization." The 2021 cohort of 184 fellows was selected from an applicant pool of almost 3,000. Shepard's six-month, $50,000 grant begins in July 2022.

Posted in News+Info