Five faculty members inducted into the American Academy of Nursing

Read, too, other news about recently received honors

Five faculty members were inducted as fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. The honor celebrates their accomplishments within the nursing profession and their leadership in education, practice, and research. The 2020 inductees are Diana Baptiste, Andrew Benson, Kristen Brown, Vickie Hughes, and Junxin Li. All are assistant professors.

Brittany Drazich, a doctoral student, has been chosen for the Graduate Student Nursing Academy Advocacy Leadership Council representing the state of Delaware.

Jason Farley, a professor, is the recipient of the American Academy of Nursing COVID-19 Courage Award in Science. Four awards, made possible with the support of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, were given in the categories of innovation, leadership, policy, and science. Each awardee received $8,000 in funding for professional development and was highlighted during the academy's virtual Transforming Health, Driving Policy conference in October. Farley received the award for his efforts to boost the dwindling personal protective equipment supply during the pandemic. He searched for PPE cleaning and reuse methods and worked with a team from the Johns Hopkins Whiting School of Engineering and the University of Maryland to create a testing booth to reduce exposure of clinical personnel. This scientific innovation has allowed testing and research to move from the hospital to the community. Farley also was a co-recipient of a Rapid Acceleration of Diagnostics for COVID-19 (RADxUp) NIH grant as a Center for AIDS Research supplement and leads the NIH-funded JHU Coronavirus Prevention Network.

Krysia Hudson, an assistant professor, has received the Maryland Higher Education Commission NSPII Nurse Faculty Annual Recognition Award for Excellence in Nursing Education.

Vinciya Pandian, an associate professor, was inducted as a fellow ad eundem of the Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery through the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.

Posted in News+Info