Recent honors for Krieger School faculty

Awards and prizes bestowed in a wide range of academic disciplines

Sanchita Balachandran, associate director of the Johns Hopkins Archaeological Museum and a senior lecturer in the Department of Near Eastern Studies, has received the annual Iris Award for Outstanding Mid-Career Scholar from the Bard Graduate Center. The Iris awards honor outstanding individuals who have contributed to the study and appreciation of the decorative arts, design history, and material culture. As this year's Outstanding Mid-Career Scholar, Balachandran will present a lecture at the award luncheon titled "Marked in Clay: Interdisciplinary Methods to Re-imagine Ancient Greek Potters at Work."

Chia-Ling Chien, the Jacob L. Hain Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy, has been presented with the 2020 Achievement Award of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Magnetics Society. This is the highest award bestowed by the society, given in recognition of exceptional technical accomplishments in the field of magnetics. The citation reads: "For pioneering discoveries in magnetic materials, nanostructures, and spin phenomena; for training young researchers; and providing invaluable service to the community."

Stefanie DeLuca, the James Coleman Professor of Social Policy and Sociology, has been elected to the Sociological Research Association, an honor that recognizes her as one of the most successful researchers in her field. SRA is a highly selective 400-person society of sociological scholars founded in 1936, and annually elects up to only 14 new members based on their excellence in research. DeLuca's work focuses on urban poverty, race, housing, and educational inequality. She directs the Poverty and Inequality Research Lab at Hopkins, where she and her team of more than two dozen students and research staff conduct mixed-methods research to improve social policy. She will be inducted at the 2021 American Sociological Association annual meeting.

Ken Karlin, a professor in the Department of Chemistry, won the 2021 American Chemical Society Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Inorganic Chemistry. The award, sponsored by Strem Chemicals, recognizes "individuals who advanced inorganic chemistry by significant service in addition to performance of outstanding research." Karlin's service included chairing the ACS Division of Inorganic Chemistry and the Division of Inorganic Chemistry's Bioinorganic Sub-Division; membership on review panels for ACS's Petroleum Research Fund and the National Institutes of Health; the scientific organization and chairing of many international conferences; and the oversight of international conferences sponsored by the Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry. His research focuses on the fundamental coordination chemistry of copper and heme-iron, involving structures, spectroscopy, and reaction mechanisms relevant to the transformations mediated by metal containing enzymes, those involving molecular oxygen and nitrogen oxides (such as NO).

Richard Katz, a professor in the Department of Political Science, has received the 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award from American Political Science Association's Conference Group on Italian Politics. Among the reasons CONGRIPS gives for honoring Katz are that he has not only "done research and published on Italian politics (in the form of single country analysis) but he has done a wealth of cutting-edge theoretical and empirical comparative research which has helped scholars outside Italy (and notably in North America) understand better Italian politics."

Bekka Klausen, an associate professor in the Department of Chemistry, is the 2021 recipient of the American Chemical Society's ACS Award in Pure Chemistry, sponsored by the Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity and the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation. This award recognizes researchers within 10 years of their terminal degree who "must have accomplished research of unusual merit for an individual on the threshold of her or his career." Klausen's award recognizes her transformative achievements in the synthesis of silicon materials inaccessible from traditional feedstocks. Key achievements include the development of complex conjugated polymers inspired by crystalline silicon and the stereocontrolled synthesis of polycyclic functional silanes.

Nadia Nurhussein, an associate professor in the English Department, is the author of Black Land: Imperial Ethiopianism and African America, which was a finalist in this year's Museum of African American History Stone Book Award. This prestigious $25,000 prize recognizes a stellar nonfiction book focusing on African American history or culture written in a literary style. The winner, announced in August, was Jelani M. Favors' Shelter in a Time of Storm: How Black Colleges Fostered Generations of Leadership and Activism.

Emily Riehl, an associate professor in the Department of Mathematics, was awarded the 2021 Joan & Joseph Birman Research Prize in Topology and Geometry for her deep and foundational work in category theory and homotopy theory. The Association for Women in Mathematics sponsored the prize. Riehl is an internationally recognized scholar for her important research works in category theory and her innovative ideas about mentorship and communication of mathematics.

Adam Riess, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of physics and astronomy, received the 2020 Daniel Chalonge Medal and the Héctor J. de Vega Medal from the International School of Astrophysics in Paris "for his contribution to the discovery of dark energy, interpretation as a cosmological constant, and for his continuous results on the Hubble constant." Riess will give a virtual lecture on Dec. 3.

Alex Szalay, a professor of physics and astronomy, is one of three recipients of the 2020 Viktor Ambartsumian International Science Prize, one of the important awards in astronomy/astrophysics and related sciences. The award is in recognition of Szalay's "pioneering work on demonstrating that the Dark Matter in the Universe might be a neutral, weakly interacting particle and for his contributions to data-driven, statistical cosmology." The prize has been awarded once every two years since 2010.

Posted in News+Info