Nursing faculty in the news

Induction in the Sigma International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame and other recent honors

Deborah Busch, Karan Kverno, and Michael Sanchez, all assistant professors, and Helina Somervell, adjunct faculty, were inducted as fellows in the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. They were selected for their outstanding contributions to health care through clinical practice, research, education, and policy.

Jason Farley, a professor, and Mona Shattell, an associate dean, were inducted into the Sigma International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame in July. The honor signifies their lifetime achievements in nursing, contributions to research, and mentoring of future nurse researchers. Shattell also recently received the Jeanette Chamberlain Psychiatric Leadership Award from the International Society of Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurses.

Yvonne Commodore-Mensah, an assistant professor and cardiovascular nurse epidemiologist, has been accepted into the World Heart Federation Salim Yusuf Emerging Leaders Programme. The program's main objective is to build up capacity, professional development, mentorship, and networking of WHF Emerging Leaders in 100 countries. Together, they research and act globally to reduce premature mortality from cardiovascular disease in line with World Health Organization and Sustainable Development Goals targets around noncommunicable diseases.

Posted in News+Info