Recent news about School of Medicine faculty

Recognitions for Netz Arroyo, Amanda Crum, James C. Harris, and Wen Shen

Netz Arroyo, an assistant professor of pharmacology and molecular sciences, has been given a Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award by Oak Ridge Associated Universities. Powe awards are for full-time assistant professors at ORAU member institutions within two years of their initial tenure track appointment. Arroyo was recognized for his innovations in designing technologies to understand mechanisms of drug transport within the body via real-time monitoring of drug levels in vivo.

Amanda Crum, who holds OD and MS degrees, has been promoted from instructor to the rank of assistant professor of ophthalmology, Wilmer Eye Institute, by the advisory board of the Johns Hopkins medical faculty. The case report that allowed the recommendation for promotion was "Bitot's Spots Following Bariatric Surgery: An Ocular Manifestation of a Systemic Disease." Her area of research is in keratoconus and contact lens prescribing patterns.

James C. Harris, director of the Developmental Neuropsychiatry Clinic at Johns Hopkins University and the Kennedy Krieger Institute, and professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and of pediatrics, has been given the 2019 William I. Gardner Award by the Center for START Services, Institute on Disability. The award recognizes "a national leader who has made significant contributions in the effort to improve the lives of people with intellectual/developmental disabilities and behavioral health." Harris' specialty is psychiatry for children with neurodevelopmental disabilities and acquired brain injury. Harris is a past director of the Johns Hopkins Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. His nationally recognized, award-winning textbooks—Developmental Neuropsychiatry and Intellectual Disability—are standard works for child psychiatrists.

Wen Shen, an assistant professor of gynecology and obstetrics, has been honored with the 2019 NAMS/Leon Speroff Outstanding Educator Award. The award recognizes a member of the North American Menopause Society for excellence in menopause-related education of clinicians or the general public. In addition to developing a menopause app for all clinicians, available through Apple and Google, Shen designed a menopause curriculum for gynecology residents and has taught them how to care for menopause patients in the resident Menopause Clinic.

Posted in News+Info