Excellence in Teaching Awards honor 15 faculty members

Alumni Association recognizes outstanding ability in the classroom

Since 1992, the Johns Hopkins Alumni Association has annually honored faculty throughout the university who excel in the art of teaching. The nomination and selection methods differ by school, but students must be involved in the process. The award can be given to one or more teachers, or, if a division so desires, in different classifications.

This year, 15 faculty members are being recognized with Excellence in Teaching Awards.

Bloomberg School of Public Health

Caitlin Kennedy, associate professor, International Health; Joanne Katz, professor, International Health; Kunihiro Matsushita, associate professor, Epidemiology; and Janet Holbrook, professor, Epidemiology

Carey Business School

Stacey Lee, associate professor; and Xian Sun, assistant professor

Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Patrick Fleming, senior lecturer, Biophysics; and Jose Rodriquez Aquino, undergrad teaching assistant, Political Science

Peabody Institute

Michael Kannen, director of Chamber Music and holder of the Sidney M. Friedberg Chair in Chamber Music


Arntraud Hartman, Steven Muller Professor, SAIS Europe

School of Education

Carey Borkoski, assistant professor

School of Nursing

Bryan Hansen, assistant professor; and Sharon Kozachik, associate professor

School of Medicine

Dawn LaPorte, vice chairman, Education, and professor of orthopedic surgery

Whiting School of Engineering

Michael Schatz, Bloomberg Distinguished Associate Professor of Computer Science and Biology

Posted in News+Info