Cynda Rushton, Sarah Szanton named to International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame

Cynda Rushton and Sarah Szanton have been selected for induction into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing 2019 International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

Sarah Szanton and Cynda Rushton

Image caption: Sarah Szanton and Cynda Rushton

Rushton is the Anne and George L. Bunting Professor of Clinical Ethics in the Berman Institute of Bioethics, and Szanton is the Health Equity and Social Justice Professor. Each was chosen for her significant contributions to the nursing profession and for her sustained research efforts to improve the care and health of people, specifically in the areas of aging and nursing ethics.

More from the School of Nursing

Kristen Brown, an assistant professor and advanced practice simulation coordinator, received the National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners Lisa Milonovich Acute Care PNP SIG Scholar Award in recognition of her contribution to advancing acute care pediatric nurse practitioners.

Dean Patricia Davidson has been named one of Maryland's Top 100 Women for 2019 by The Daily Record in recognition of her professional accomplishments, community leadership, and mentoring.

Sabianca Delva, a PhD candidate, was selected for the Edward A. Bouchet Graduate Honor Society, in recognition of her values of scholarship, leadership, character, service, and advocacy.

Marie Nolan, a professor and executive vice dean, received the Hospice & Palliative Nurses Association Distinguished Career Achievement Award celebrating her contributions to research, theory, and education in nursing and interprofessional palliative care.

Phyllis Sharps, the Elsie M. Lawler Professor and associate dean for community programs and initiatives, was selected as the 2019 Black Nurse of the Year by the Black Nurses Association of the Greater Washington, D.C. Area. She was chosen for her commitment to nursing service and practice and her exemplary work within the community.

Elizabeth Sloand, an associate professor, received the Journal of Pediatric Health Care's Ellen Rudy Clore Excellence in Scholarly Writing Award for 2018 for her article "Breastfeeding Practices and Opinions of Latina Mothers in an Urban Pediatric Office: A Focus Group Study."

Posted in News+Info