Janice Evans elected president of the Society for the Study of Reproduction

Also of note: Elizabeth Stuart to deliver 2018 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lecture at Harvard

Janice Evans

Image caption: Janice Evans

Janice Evans, a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, has been elected president of the Society for the Study of Reproduction. Her term in the presidential chain started in July 2016 as vice president-elect, and her presidential year begins in July and runs through July 2019. As president, she will oversee the planning for the July 2019 meeting, Beyond Possible: Remarkable Transformation of Reproductive Biology, to be held in San Jose, California. The mission of the 1,500-member Society for the Study of Reproduction is to advance scientific knowledge by promoting outstanding research and training in reproductive sciences and to protect and preserve human and animal reproductive health. Evans' research focuses on fundamental cell biological processes related to the oocyte's progression through meiosis.

More from the Bloomberg School of Public Health

Elizabeth A. Stuart, associate dean for education and a professor in the Department of Biostatistics, has received the 2018 Myrto Lefkopoulou Distinguished Lectureship from the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. The lectureship is awarded to promising statisticians who have made contributions to either collaborative or methodologic research in the applications of statistical methods to biology or medicine, and/or who have shown excellence in the teaching of biostatistics. The lecture is presented to a general scientific audience as the first department colloquium of each academic year. The lectureship includes travel to Boston, a reception following the lecture, and an honorarium of $1,000.

Stuart, a recipient of the Bloomberg School's Golden Apple Award for Excellence in Teaching, has joint appointments in the departments of Mental Health and of Health Policy and Management. She is an elected fellow of the American Statistical Association and a recipient of the American Association Health Policy Statistics Mid-Career Award. Her research interests include mental health, policy evaluation, biostatistics, causal inference, and generalizability of results from randomized trials to target populations.

Posted in News+Info