Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb named inaugural Sarah E. Allison Professor for Research and Self-Care

Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb has been named the inaugural Sarah E. Allison Professor for Research and Self-Care. Funded by recently deceased Johns Hopkins School of Nursing alumna Sarah Elizabeth Allison, the endowed chair was established to recognize nursing theorist Dorothea Orem for her Self-Care Deficit Theory and to promote research that helps patients maintain dignity, function, and well-being. Allison, class of 1953, worked with Orem on the theory and brought its tenets to the Wilmer Eye Clinic at the Johns Hopkins Hospital, where she served as clinical director of nursing in the 1970s.

Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb

Image caption: Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb

As a trailblazer in cardiovascular care and patient safety, Himmelfarb has aimed her work at reducing health disparities and improving the quality of care and outcomes for cardiovascular and critical care patients. She is immediate past president of the Preventive Cardiovascular Nurses Association and has served on numerous National Institutes of Health and American Heart Association panels. She is co-author of the new Hypertension Guideline of the American Heart Association and the American College of Cardiology and has been influential in expanding patient and provider knowledge about the implications of hypertension for treatment and the health of the general population.

Himmelfarb serves as associate dean for research, leading the JHSON's Office for Science and Innovation, and as director of the Helene Fuld Leadership Program for the Advancement of Patient Safety and Quality. As deputy director of the Johns Hopkins Institute for Clinical and Translation Research, she has been a leader in the field of research, enhancing and promoting best practices around participant recruitment/retention and community engagement.

She was recently inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame.

More from the School of Nursing

Kristen Brown, an instructor in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care, was selected for the National League for Nursing's yearlong Leadership Development Program for Simulation Educators. It is one of three tracks in the NLN Leadership Institute. Brown will have the opportunity to attend leadership development webinars, exchange ideas and best practices, do research, visit simulation centers around the country, attend professional conferences, and more.

Christina Fleming, a doctoral student in the Department of Community-Public Health, received the Heilbrunn Family Center for Research Nursing funding for her project "Development of a Knowledge Assessment Instrument for Health Care Providers in the Care of Women and Girls Affected by Female Genital Mutilation/Cutting."

Nancy Goldstein, an instructor in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care, and Nicole Warren, an assistant professor in the Department of Community-Public Health, each received a fourth annual Miller Coulson Nurse Practitioner/Physician Assistant Clinical Excellence Award, which is given by the Miller Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence to recognize NP/PAs who exemplify clinical excellence.

Sharon Dudley-Brown and Elizabeth Sloand, both associate professors in the Department of Acute and Chronic Care, were selected as 2018 fellows of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. Each was chosen for her forward-thinking contributions that have led to meaningful improvements in health care and the nurse practitioner role.

Posted in News+Info