Elizabeth Stuart receives Gertrude M. Cox Award

Elizabeth Stuart, a professor in the Department of Mental Health and associate dean for education, has been chosen by the Washington Statistical Society and RTI International as this year's recipient of the Gertrude M. Cox Award.

Image caption: Elizabeth Stuart

The award annually recognizes a statistician in early to mid-career who has made significant contributions to one or more of the areas of applied statistics in which Gertrude Cox worked: survey methodology, experimental design, biostatistics, and statistical computing. Stuart was trained as a statistician, and her primary research interests are in the development and use of methodology to better design and analyze the causal effects of public health and educational interventions.

More from the Bloomberg School of Public Health

Colleen Barry, the Fred and Julie Soper Professor and chair of the Department of Health Policy and Management, and Maria Bulzarcchelli, an assistant research professor in Health Policy and Management and director of its Undergraduate Program in Public Health Studies, have been inducted into the Delta Omega Public Health Honor Society, Alpha Chapter.

Mark Bittle, an associate scientist in the Department of Health Policy and Management, has been accepted to the 2017–18 SOURCE Service-Learning Faculty Fellows Program. Through the program, fellows receive a $1,500 stipend and are required to integrate a service-learning component into a new or existing course with assistance from SOURCE (the Student Outreach Resource Center for the schools of Medicine, Nursing, and Public Health).

Meghan Davis, an assistant professor in the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering, has received the Lipitz Public Health Policy Faculty Award for her proposal "Exploring Barriers and Facilitators to Participation in Direct Farmer-to-Consumer Food Activities Among U.S. Military Community Stakeholders and Local Agricultural Producers."

Posted in News+Info