Search begins for School of Education dean

University President Ronald J. Daniels has convened a committee, chaired by CTY Executive Director Elaine Hansen, to undertake a nationwide search for the new dean of the School of Education. Members of the Johns Hopkins community are welcome to share thoughts on the search and submit confidential nominations by emailing

Former Dean David Andrews departed on April 1 to begin a new role as president of National University in California. Mariale Hardiman, the school's vice dean for academic affairs and a professor of clinical education, is serving as interim dean.

In a message to the university, President Daniels said the School of Education has made great progress toward achieving its ambitious goals. "We are now in a position to build on the school's strengths and take it to even greater heights," he said. "I am grateful to Elaine and to the search committee members, who were recruited from several divisions across the university, for committing their time and energy to this important responsibility."

The members of the search committee are:

  • Elaine Hansen, chair, executive director, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth
  • Yolanda Abel, associate professor, Teaching and Learning, School of Education
  • Chadia Abras, associate dean, Online Teaching and Learning/Information Technology, School of Education
  • Susan Baisley, associate vice president, Constituent Engagement, University Administration
  • Mary Ellen Beaty-O'Ferrall, associate professor, School of Education
  • Tina Cheng, professor and division chief, General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine; and vice chair, Department of Pediatrics, School of Medicine
  • Norma Day-Vines, professor, Counseling and Human Services, School of Education
  • Roger Faxon, trustee, Johns Hopkins University
  • Deborah Gross, the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Endowed Professor in Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing, School of Nursing and School of Medicine
  • Barbara Landau, director, Science of Learning Institute, and the Dick and Lydia Todd Professor of Cognitive Science, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Philip Leaf, professor, Department of Mental Health, and director, Center for the Prevention of Youth Violence, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Nancy Madden, professor, Center for Research and Reform in Education, School of Education, and president and CEO, Success for All Foundation
  • Peace Madueme, MAT candidate, School of Education
  • Stephen Morgan, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Sociology and Education, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences and School of Education
  • Stephen Pape, professor, Education, School of Education
  • Amy Shelton, professor and associate dean for research, School of Education, and director of Research, Johns Hopkins Center for Talented Youth
  • Christopher Wrightson, doctoral candidate, School of Education
  • Philip Tang, vice provost for academic services and staff to the committee

Posted in News+Info