Johns Hopkins Club to dedicate room to university's Nobel laureates

The Johns Hopkins Club is holding a reception to officially open its new Nobel Room, dedicated to the 36 Johns Hopkins university faculty members, graduates, and other affiliates who have won Nobel Prizes.

The by-invitation-only event will be held at the Homewood campus facility at 4 p.m. on Thursday, Oct. 22.

Expected to attend are two of the four Nobel laureates on the university's current faculty: Molecular biologist and geneticist Carol Greider, co-winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine, and astrophysicist Adam Riess, who shared the 2011 Nobel Prize in physics. University and civic leaders, faculty members, and members of the Johns Hopkins Club board of governors will also attend.

The club is honoring Nobel winners associated with Johns Hopkins with panes dedicated to each in the windows of the new Nobel Room. Also added to the room is a bronze bust of Alfred Nobel, the 19th-century Swedish industrialist who created the prizes.

The university's first Nobel laureate was President Woodrow Wilson, winner of the Nobel Peace Prize in 1919, who received a doctorate in history from Johns Hopkins in 1886 (and, while at the university, sang tenor in the Johns Hopkins Glee Club). Wilson remains the only U.S. president with an earned PhD.

The two other Nobelists currently on the faculty are molecular biologist Peter Agre, who received the 2003 Nobel Prize in chemistry, and astrophysicist Riccardo Giacconi, winner of the 2002 Nobel Prize in physics.

Posted in Happenings