Four teams awarded Space@Hopkins seed grants

Each year Space@Hopkins awards seed grants to enable Johns Hopkins researchers to test and develop new ideas that enhance their ability to obtain external funding. For 2023 Space@Hopkins will fund four teams representing the Applied Physics Laboratory (APL), the Krieger School of Arts & Sciences (KSAS), and the Whiting School of Engineering (WSE).

The four projects awarded new seed grants are:

Dielectric Metamaterial Actuators as Highly Efficient and Endurable Actuators in Space Applications

  • PI: Jochen Mueller (WSE: Civil & Systems Engineering).

Machine Learning-Accelerated Discovery of New High-Entropy Shape Memory Alloys for Space Actuation

  • PI: Paulette Clancy (WSE: Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Co-I: Eddie Gienger (APL: Research and Exploratory Development)

Waste-Heat Powered Hydrogen Production on Mars

  • PI: Corey Oses (WSE: Materials Science & Engineering)
  • Co-Is: Kenneth A. Kane (APL: Research and Exploratory Development) and Avi G. Bregman (APL: Research and Exploratory Development)

Health Effects of Space Travel: Circadian Rhythm Disruptions From Irregular Sleep and Light/Dark Patterns

  • PI: Nichole Broderick (KSAS: Biology)

Since 2016 Space@Hopkins has served as an umbrella organization to connect civilian space research across all Johns Hopkins divisions. All Space@Hopkins seed grants provide undergraduate research opportunities as a program requirement.

Applications for the next round of Space@Hopkins seed grants will open during the spring 2024 semester. For additional information, contact the Space@Hopkins Space Fellow, Yuzo Ishikawa, at

Tagged space@hopkins