ARCH selects recipients of 2022 Mark O. Robbins Prize

Advanced Research Computing at Hopkins (ARCH) is honored to announce the winners of the 2022 Mark O. Robbins Prize in high performance computing. We would also like to thank our funding partners whose support makes these prizes possible: the Hopkins Extreme Materials Institute (HEMI), the Institute for Data-Intensive Engineering and Science (IDIES), and the departments of Physics, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering.

Congratulations to Samantha Zarate and Remy A. Yovanno as this year's PhD award recipients.

Zarate, a computational genomics PhD student advised by Michael C. Schatz, utilizes HPC in her work with genomic structural variation and analysis. Yovanno, a computational biophysics PhD candidate under the purview of Albert Lau, performs all-atom molecular dynamics simulations at scale using HPC.

The 2022 Mark O. Robbins future faculty prize for postdoctoral fellows has been awarded to David Buchta, who holds a PhD in theoretical and applied mechanics. Buchta's work in computational fluid dynamics simulations, along with his enthusiasm for mentoring young computational scientists, exemplifies Dr. Robbins' legacy, making Buchta a deserving recipient of this prestigious award.

We'd like to thank all nominees (and their advisers) who submitted for consideration, as well as our faculty judges.

Finally, please join us in extending congratulations to this year's recipients for their past contributions to HPC. We wish Zarate, Yovanno, and Buchta great success in all their research and professional endeavors.

About the Robbins Prize: Mark O. Robbins received BA and MA degrees from Harvard University. He was a Churchill Fellow at Cambridge University, U.K., and received his PhD from the University of California, Berkeley. Robbins was a professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Johns Hopkins from 1986 until his untimely death in 2020. He was a renowned condensed matter and statistical physicist who played a key role in supporting the development of computational facilities at Johns Hopkins, through his leadership at the Maryland Advanced Research Computing Center in the Institute for Data-Intensive Engineering and Science.

The ARCH webpage about the 2022 winners is here.