Four teams awarded Space@Hopkins seed grants

Each year Space@Hopkins awards seed grants to enable Johns Hopkins researchers to test and develop new ideas that enhance their ability to obtain external funding. For 2022-23, Space@Hopkins will fund four teams representing the Applied Physics Laboratory, the Krieger School of Arts & Sciences, the School of Medicine, and the Whiting School of Engineering.

The four projects awarded new seed grants are:

"Sheltering Life on Titan and Enceladus"

  • PI: Paulette Clancy (WSE: Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering)
  • Co-I: Shannon MacKenzie (APL: Civil Space)

"Catching Space Bears: Ground Station Honeypot Cybersecurity Analysis"

  • PI: Gregory Falco (WSE: Civil and Systems Engineering; APL: Institute for Assured Autonomy)

"Electrification of Titan Sand Materials"

  • PI: Chao He (KSAS: Earth & Planetary Sciences)
  • Co-Is: Sarah M. Hörst (KSAS: Earth & Planetary Sciences); Patricia McGuiggan (WSE: Materials Science and Engineering)

"Self-Powered, Electronics-Free Tactile Sensors Immune to the Hazards of Cosmic Radiation"

  • PI: Nitish Thakor (SoM: Biomedical Engineering)
  • Co-I: Andreas Andreou (WSE: Electrical & Computer Engineering)

Since 2016 Space@Hopkins has served as an umbrella organization to connect civilian space research across all Johns Hopkins divisions. All Space@Hopkins seed grants provide undergraduate research opportunities as a program requirement.

Applications for the next round of Space@Hopkins seed grants will open during the spring 2023 semester. For additional information, contact the Space@Hopkins Space Fellow, Yuzo Ishikawa, at Further information about Space@Hopkins can be found at​.

Tagged space@hopkins