Five teams awarded Space@Hopkins seed grants

Each year Space@Hopkins awards seed grants to enable Johns Hopkins researchers to test and develop new ideas that enhance their ability to obtain external funding. For 2020 Space@Hopkins will fund five teams representing the Applied Physics Laboratory, the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, the School of Medicine, and the Whiting School of Engineering.

The five projects awarded new seed grants are:

Space Gravity Impacts on Cellular Energy Homeostasis
- PI: Soojung Claire Hur (WSE: Mechanical Engineering & SoM: Oncology)
- Co-I: Sangwon F. Kim (SoM: Medicine, Neuroscience)

Electrostatically Charged Contact Mechanics in Lunar and Martian Dust Environments
- PI: Ryan Hurley (WSE: Mechanical Engineering)
- Co-I: Rui Ni (WSE: Mechanical Engineering)

Connecting Supernova Light Curves From Gamma-Rays to Ultraviolet/Optical/Infrared (UVOIR)
- PI: Richard Miller (APL: Civil Space)

Developing Metal-Organic Porous Materials Towards Lithium Sulfur Batteries for Space Applications
- PI: V. Sara Thoi (KSAS: Chemistry & WSE: Materials Science and Engineering)

New Statistical Techniques for Time-Domain Analysis at the Frontier of Space-Based Astronomy
- PI: Nadia Zakamska (KSAS: Physics and Astronomy)

Since 2016, Space@Hopkins has served as an umbrella organization to connect civilian space research across all Johns Hopkins divisions. All Space@Hopkins seed grants provide undergraduate research opportunities as a program requirement.

Applications for the next round of Space@Hopkins seed grants will open during the spring 2021 semester. For additional information, contact the Space@Hopkins Space Fellow, Carolina Núñez, at Further information about Space@Hopkins can be found on the program's website.