Odyssey: Jonathan Palevsky on Brahms: Symphony No. 1 & 2

Johannes Brahms was 43 in 1876 when he completed his Symphony No. 1 in C minor. The symphony underwent extensive revisions before emerging as one of the great cornerstones of the repertoire. Overcoming that barrier, Brahms was able to complete his remaining symphonies in, what was for him, relative ease, and the Symphony No. 2 in D major had its premiere the following year in 1877. Whereas the first symphony is of epic length and is always compared to Beethoven's ninth, the second is shorter, more intimate and pastoral. Both of these symphonies are masterpieces in their own right, and both symphonies display interesting aspects of the composer's personal character and musical style. When you add to this that Brahms never lacked for a bon mot, it becomes clear that exploring these first two symphonies is well worth our time.

The two lectures come with an option (section 02) to hear Brahms Symphony No. 2 performed by the Hopkins Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jed Gaylin. Maestro Gaylin will be a special guest at one of the lectures.

912.548.01 Homewood campus
Wednesday, April 20 & 27, 6:30 to 8:30 p.m.
Cost: $64
Cost w/HSO performance at 8 p.m., Saturday, April 30: $74

JHU full-time faculty/staff are eligible for tuition remission. You will be unable to register online and receive the discount. Contact 410-516-8516, for more information.