Community Service Award recipients recognized at MLK Jr. Commemoration

Attend a day of celebration for Johns Hopkins' 34th annual Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration at noon on Friday, Jan. 8, in Turner Auditorium. Denyce Graves and Levi Garraway will be the keynote speakers. The theme is "The Beloved Community: A Force for Social Change."

The program will include a video tribute to Dr. Watkins, founder of the award and the event who died last April. Unified Voices, a high-spirited choir made up of Johns Hopkins employees and members of the East Baltimore community, will perform gospel selections.

In what's become a highlight of the commemoration, eight faculty and staff members and students representing Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System and Johns Hopkins University will receive Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards. This award recognizes outstanding commitment to volunteer community service and humanity in the spirit of Dr. King's life.

The 2015 recipients are:
+ Carla Beckford, manager of employment services for Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
+ April Holmes, medication technician for Hopkins ElderPlus
+ Lee Keagle, application coordinator for Epic at Johns Hopkins Hospital
+ Kekoa Taparra, doctoral candidate in Cellular and Molecular Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
+ Joe Smith, director of local government affairs for Johns Hopkins University
+ Annie Umbricht, assistant professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
+ Corey Williams, manager of IT clinical operations and eRadiology Center at Johns Hopkins Hospital
+ Jelani Zarif, postdoctoral fellow in urology at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

A list of locations where the event will be streamed live