Community Service Award recipients to be recognized at MLK Jr. Commemoration

Attend a day of celebration for Johns Hopkins' 33rd annual Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration at noon on Friday, Jan. 9, in Turner Auditorium. Morris Dees, founder of the Southern Poverty Law Center and a nationally recognized advocate for civil rights and tolerance, will be the keynote speaker. The program's focus is "Tolerance in America: Its Beauty and Challenges."

The program will feature a video tribute to Maya Angelou and unveiling of the portrait of Levi Watkins Jr., the commemoration's founder. Unified Voices, a high-spirited choir, made up of Johns Hopkins employees and members of the East Baltimore community, will perform gospel selections. The event will be simulcast in the Great Hall/Levering Hall on the Homewood campus.

In what's become a highlight of the commemoration, eight faculty and staff members and students representing Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System and Johns Hopkins University will receive the Martin Luther King Jr. Community Service Awards. This award recognizes outstanding commitment to volunteer community service and humanity in the spirit of Dr. King's life. The 2015 recipients are: JHU + Theresa Barberi—Postdoctoral Fellow, School of Medicine + Albert Chi—Faculty, School of Medicine + Adi Noiman—Graduate Student, Bloomberg School of Public Health + Margaret Strong—Staff, School of Medicine JHH/JHHS + Janine Coy—Staff, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center + Rochelle Mariano—Staff, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center + Harlisha Martin—Staff, Johns Hopkins Home Care Group + Nelson Moody Sr.—Staff, Johns Hopkins Hospital