University shares update on efforts to advance diversity, equity, and inclusion

Feedback sought on set of 65 recommendations developed by Roadmap 2020 Task Force

Johns Hopkins University unveiled a set of draft recommendations Monday that will lay the foundation for the next iteration of the JHU Roadmap on Diversity and Inclusion, which since 2016 has served as the university's guiding document and accountability framework for advancing equity and inclusion.

The 65 recommendations cover a range of topics—faculty diversity and staff advancement, community and alumni engagement, student support and success, training and development, and institutional accountability. They were developed by the 43-member Roadmap 2020 Task Force and seven working groups made up of 162 students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community partners.

In a message to the Hopkins community earlier this week, JHU President Ronald J. Daniels, Provost Sunil Kumar, and Chief Diversity Officer Katrina Caldwell asked for comments, feedback, and ideas as they work with the university's divisions and other key stakeholders over the summer to craft a set of common and measurable objectives for the university as a whole. A full draft of the updated Roadmap will be posted for comment at the start of the fall semester, with a final document to follow in October.

The process of reassessing the university's approach to diversity, equity, and inclusion began last summer when Daniels announced the formation of the task force as part of a broad set of initiatives addressing racism and discrimination at Johns Hopkins. The task force was led by Caldwell; Patricia Davidson, former dean of the School of Nursing; and Ashley Llorens, former chief of the Intelligent Systems Center at the Applied Physics Laboratory.

"Our goal was to build on the foundation laid by the initial Roadmap with a frank assessment of the effectiveness of our strategies and any gaps in our approach," Daniels, Kumar, and Caldwell wrote in a message to the Hopkins community Monday, "and then to consider new approaches for ensuring our university community is a place that achieves excellence by welcoming and supporting the full and diverse scope of people, ideas, backgrounds, and experiences."

Over the past several months, the task force working groups held public and small group listening sessions, hosted conversations, and gathered feedback to identify gaps in the university's existing strategies and to consider new approaches that would move the university closer to its goals. Their recommendations place significant emphasis on developing mechanisms for greater accountability for leadership and transparency about the composition of and expectations for the university community.

"Barriers to diversity and equity are often exacerbated by a lack of access to unwritten rules or unstated expectations for success," says Rigoberto Hernandez, professor of chemistry in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences who replaced Llorens as co-chair of the task force in March. "As an institution, we have the power to remove this inequity entirely by being completely transparent in all of our rules and decisions, and by communicating our expectations for success to every member of our community."

Read the full list of Roadmap 2020 Task Force recommendations

Roadmap 2020 Taskforce Co-Chairs

  • Katrina Caldwell, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion & Chief Diversity Officer, University Administration
  • Patricia Davidson, former dean, School of Nursing
  • Rigoberto Hernandez, Gompf Family Professor of Chemistry, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

University Administration

  • Nancy Kass, Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Farouk Dey, Vice Provost for Integrative Learning and Life Design, University Administration
  • Andrew Douglas, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
  • Shanon Shumpert, Vice Provost for Institutional Equity
  • Ed Schlesinger, Dean, Whiting School of Engineering
  • Alicia Wilson, Vice President for Economic Development, University Administration

Faculty (alphabetical by school)

  • Chris Beyrer, Desmond M. Tutu Professor of Public Health and Human Rights, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Lisa Cooper, Director, Urban Health Institute, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Mindi Levin, Director, SOURCE, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Sophie Neuner, Research Associate Center for American Indian Alaskan Native Health, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Victoria O'Keefe, Mathuram Santosham Chair in Native American Health, Assistant Professor, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • James Calvin, Professor of Practice, Carey Business School
  • Ho-Fung Hung, Henry M. and Elizabeth P. Wiesenfeld Professor in Political Economy, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Nadia Nurhussein, Associate Professor, English and Africana Studies, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Yolanda Abel, Associate Professor and Department Chair of Advanced Studies in Education, School of Education
  • Robert Higgins, Senior Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, William Stewart Halstead Professor of Surgery, JHM Surgeon-in-Chief, School of Medicine
  • Damani Piggott, Assistant Dean for Graduate Biomedical Education and Graduate Student Diversity, Assistant Professor of Medicine, School of Medicine
  • Bonnielin Swenor, Associate Professor, Ophthalmology, School of Medicine
  • Gloria Ramsey, Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, School of Nursing
  • Teresa Brockie, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing

Students & Postdocs

  • Maya Camargo-Vemuri, Graduate Student, School of Advanced International Studies
  • Ashley Cureton, Postdoctoral, School of Education
  • Jawara Allen, M.D/Ph.D. Candidate, School of Medicine
  • Ozioma Anyanwu, Undergraduate Student, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Carolyn Dzul, Undergraduate Student, Peabody Institute
  • Alisha Chen, Undergraduate Student, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences

Staff (alphabetical by school)

  • Joel Bolling, Assistant Dean for Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Lorraine Smith, Senior Grants and Contracts Analyst, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Joseph Colón, Director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs, Homewood Student Affairs
  • Demere Woolway, Director of LGBTQ Life, Homewood Student Affairs
  • Ian Matthew-Clayton, Executive Director for Talent Acquisition, Human Resources
  • Darlene Saporu, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences & Whiting School of Engineering
  • Abra Bush, Senior Associate Dean of Institute Studies, Peabody
  • Noemi Crespo Rice, Assistant Dean of Student Affairs, School of Advanced International Studies
  • Nancy Edwards Molello, Program Director, Operations and Strategic Initiatives, Center for Health Equity, School of Medicine
  • Mónica Guerrero Vazquez, Executive Director, Centro SOL, School of Medicine
  • Stacey Marks, Academic Program Manager, School of Medicine
  • Erin Fox, Senior Program Manager, Office of Diversity and Inclusion

Community Partners

  • Melvin Wilson, Co-Director, Turnaround Tuesday, BUILD
  • Alexandria Warrick-Adams, Executive Director, Elev8 Baltimore


  • Anika Penn, President, Johns Hopkins Alumni Council

Posted in University News

Tagged diversity