26 with ties to Hopkins receive NSF Graduate Research Fellowships

Program participants are selected by the National Science Foundation for their achievements in science, technology, engineering, and math

The National Science Foundation has awarded Graduate Research Fellowships to 26 students with ties to Johns Hopkins University. They have been selected for their outstanding work in science, technology, engineering, or math fields.

NSF logo

The NSF Graduate Research Fellows program is the oldest graduate fellowship of its kind. Fellows receive three years of financial support in the form of an annual stipend of $34,000 and a $12,000 cost of education allowance for tuition and fees paid to the institution. They have opportunities for international research and professional development and have the freedom to conduct their own research.

The 2021 NSF Graduate Research Fellows with ties to Johns Hopkins are:

Riley Bannon is a neuroscience graduate student who works in neurodegeneration and neuroinflammation.

David Beaudry is a graduate research assistant in the lab of Mitra Taheri, where he studies structural, electronic, and magnetic materials, biomaterials, extreme environments, and additive manufacturing.

Sara Carioscia is a PhD student from the Program in Cell, Molecular, Developmental Biology and Biophysics. She researches the phenomenon of segregation distortion, where inheritance deviates from Mendelian expectations.

Habben Desta is a graduate student in the Institute for NanoBioTechnology. She received her BS in nanoscale engineering from SUNY Polytechnic Institute.

Andrew Eneim is a graduate student in the Wolberger Lab at the School of Medicine.

Carter Gerkeis a graduate student in the Department of Chemistry.

Daisy Grace is a PhD student working in the Prasse Lab investigating the intersection of environmental health and engineering.

Hannah Haller is a graduate student working in the Kaiser Lab in the Krieger school. There, she investigates the molecular processes in protein biogenesis.

Claire Heffernan is a PhD student in biostatistics. Last year, she was awarded the PhD Examination Award.

Vienna Huso is a graduate student in the Biochemistry, Cellular and Molecular Biology Graduate Program at the School of Medicine.

Siddharth Iyer is a senior undergraduate researcher in the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering and researcher in the Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology.

Nicholas Keith is a graduate student in the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at the School of Medicine.

Alexis Lowe is a PhD candidate who researches the materials and methods that interface the human nervous system with bioelectronic devices. Her current work focuses on implantable electrode design for peripheral nerve interfaces.

Eszter Mihaly studies skeletal muscle regeneration as a biomedical PhD student in the Grayson Lab for Craniofacial and Orthopaedic Tissue Engineering.

Shivani Pandey is an undergraduate senior studying biomedical engineering.

Amanda Qu is a graduate student in the Program in Molecular Biophysics. She is a second year student in Doug Barrick's lab.

Kent Rapp is a graduate student in chemical and biomolecular engineering, and serves on the general council for Hopkins' Graduate Representative Organization.

Paul Sargunas is a PhD student in chemical and biomolecular engineering serving in the Spangler Lab, researching targeted therapeutics to treat a broad range of immune diseases.

Christopher Shallal is an undergraduate student in biomedical engineering. His research interests include prosthetic technology, soft robotics, and neural devices.

Rachel Shapiro is a PhD candidate in chemical and biomolecular engineering.

Jennifer Viveiros is a PhD student in Erika Matunis' laboratory. There, she researches the stem cells that sustain spermatogenesis in fruit flies.

Nathaniel Weir is a PhD student at the Center for Language and Speech Processing. There, he works on controllable and diverse natural language generation, semantic probing of neural language models, and neural semantic parsing.

Alex Yeh is a graduate student in the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering.

Hao "Nick" Zhang is a first year PhD student in the department of Materials Science and Engineering and working with professor Shoji Hall. His research focuses are on energy materials and electrocatalysis.

Angela Zhu is a Health Policy and Management graduate student in the Bloomberg School.

Claire Zurn is a biomedical engineering PhD candidate who studies neurology and systems and controls modeling.

Editor's note: A previous version of this article described all GRFP winners as graduate students or misstated their fields of study. The Hub regrets the error.

Posted in Science+Technology

Tagged nsf