Search committee formed to help identify next SAIS dean

The school's 10th dean will succeed Eliot Cohen, whose two-year term will end in June

Provost Sunil Kumar will chair a 22-person search committee tasked with assisting with a global search to identify the next dean of Johns Hopkins University's School of Advanced International Studies, a leader who will move the Washington, D.C., school to its new home at 555 Pennsylvania Ave. and set the strategic vision for the future of SAIS into the next decade.

The new dean will succeed Eliot Cohen, a foreign policy scholar and former senior State Department official who will complete his two-year term as the school's ninth dean on June 30. Cohen has opted to not be considered as a candidate for the forthcoming search.

The search committee will work closely with the executive search firm Spencer Stuart. Members of the Hopkins community are encouraged to share feedback and confidential nominations at

The members of the search committee are:

  • Sunil Kumar, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Johns Hopkins University (chair)
  • James Anderson, Johns Hopkins University Board of Trustees
  • Atinuke Adigun, MA candidate, SAIS
  • Miji Bell, Senior Director of Marketing, Communications & Community Engagement, SAIS
  • James "Jeb" Benkowski, PhD candidate, SAIS
  • Gordon Bodnar, Morris W. Offit Professor of International Finance, SAIS
  • Katrina Caldwell, Vice Provost for Diversity and Inclusion and Chief Diversity Officer, Johns Hopkins University
  • Chris Celenza, Dean, Krieger School of Arts and Sciences
  • Jessica Fanzo, Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Global Food Policy and Ethics, Berman Institute of Bioethics, Bloomberg School of Public Health, SAIS
  • Christine Fox, Assistant Director, Policy and Analysis, Applied Physics Laboratory
  • Frank Gavin, Giovanni Agnelli Distinguished Professor and Director of the Henry A. Kissinger Center for Global Affairs, SAIS
  • Lisel Hintz, Assistant Professor of International Relations and European Studies, SAIS
  • Daniel Honig, Assistant Professor of International Development, SAIS
  • Lee Kempler, Chair, SAIS Board of Advisors
  • Adria Lawrence, Aronson Associate Professor of International Studies and Political Science, SAIS, Krieger School
  • Peter Lewis, Warren Weinstein Chair of African Studies and Director of Africa and Middle East Programs, SAIS
  • Sarah O'Hagan, Johns Hopkins University Board of Trustees, SAIS Board of Advisors
  • Ned Offit, SAIS Board of Advisors
  • Lainie Rutkow, Professor of Health Policy and Management, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Senior Adviser to the President for Strategic Initiatives
  • Fritz Schroeder, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations, Johns Hopkins University
  • Adam Szubin, Distinguished Practitioner-in-Residence, SAIS
  • Gamze Zeytinci, Senior Associate Dean of Finance and Administration, SAIS

Posted in University News