Search committee formed to identify next Hopkins Nursing dean

The school's new leader will succeed Patricia Davidson, who has led the School of Nursing since 2013

Johns Hopkins University today announced plans to launch a global search for the next dean of its School of Nursing. Patricia Davidson, a global leader in cardiac health and the care of vulnerable populations, will leave the university in April to become vice-chancellor of the University of Wollongong in her native Australia.

Under the leadership of Davidson, who has served as dean since 2013, the School of Nursing maintained its No. 1 standing as the school transitioned to an exclusive focus on graduate-level instruction and introduced a range of new programs with notable collaborations across the university, such as the Doctor of Nursing Practice/Masters of Business, Doctor of Nursing Practice/Masters of Public Health, Doctor of Nursing Practice/Nurse Anesthesiology, and Doctor of Nursing Practice/Doctor of Philosophy.

"These achievements, as well as countless others, reflect the tireless work of Trish and the school's outstanding faculty, staff, and students, to increase the impact of Hopkins Nursing and extend its reach around the globe," JHU President Ronald J. Daniels wrote in a message to the Hopkins community today. "We are in a fortunate position to be able to build upon this great foundation as we search the right person to lead the School of Nursing into the next decade."

Provost Sunil Kumar will chair the committee that will help identify Davidson's successor. The executive search firm Isaacson, Miller will work closely with the university committee to develop a candidate pool and facilitate the process. Members of the Johns Hopkins community are encouraged to share thoughts and/or confidential nominations with the search firm.

The members of the search committee are:

  • Sunil Kumar, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs (chair)
  • Hoover Adger, Professor of Pediatrics, School of Medicine
  • Kamila Alexander, Assistant Professor, School of Nursing and the Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Deborah Baker, Senior Vice President for Nursing at Johns Hopkins Health System, Vice President of Nursing and Patient Care Services at Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Natalie Bush, Vice Chair, School of Nursing Advisory Board
  • Jessie Casida, Associate Professor, School of Nursing
  • Theodore DeWeese, Professor of Radiation Oncology and Molecular Radiation Sciences, Vice Dean for Clinical Affairs and President of the Clinical Practice Association, School of Medicine
  • Joshua Else, Associate Vice President for Development, Development and Alumni Relations
  • Jason Farley, Professor, PhD, DNP/PhD and Post-Doctoral Program Director, School of Nursing, Clinical Core Co-Director, JHU Center for AIDS Research
  • Nancy Glass, Professor, Director, MSN/MPH Program, School of Nursing, Associate Director, Johns Hopkins Center for Global Health
  • Cheryl Dennison Himmelfarb, Sarah E. Allison Endowed Professor and Vice Dean for Research, School of Nursing
  • Allen Kachalia, Senior Vice President of Patient Safety and Quality, Director, Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality, Johns Hopkins Medicine
  • Landon King, Professor of Medicine, Executive Vice Dean, School of Medicine
  • Maureen Marsh, Secretary of the Board of Trustees, Johns Hopkins University
  • Marie Nolan, Professor, Executive Vice Dean, School of Nursing
  • Anna Peeler, PhD Candidate, School of Nursing
  • Keshia Pollack Porter, Professor, Vice Dean for Faculty, Bloomberg School of Public Health
  • Gloria Ramsey, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, School of Nursing
  • Jon Suen, PhD Candidate, School of Nursing
  • Sarah Szanton, Endowed Professor for Health, Equity, and Social Justice, Director, Center for Innovative Care in Aging, School of Nursing