Four from Johns Hopkins named to AIMBE College of Fellows

Honor recognizes those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering and medicine research, practice, or education

Four faculty members from Johns Hopkins University have been selected to join the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows.

Selection as an AIMBE fellow is among the highest professional distinctions in the fields of medical and biological engineering. The College of Fellows honors those who have made outstanding contributions to engineering and medicine research, practice, or education.

Composite image of four researchers

Image caption: The AIMBE honorees from Johns Hopkins are (from left) Honggang Cui, Warren Grayson, Sujatha Kannan, and Hanzhang Lu

Fellows will be honored during an induction ceremony today in Washington, D.C. The fellows from Johns Hopkins are:

  • Honggang Cui, an associate professor in the Whiting School of Engineering's Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Cui, a member of the Johns Hopkins Institute for NanoBioTechnology, was selected for his outstanding contributions to the development of drug-based supramolecular biomaterials.

  • Warren Grayson, an associate professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, which is shared by the Whiting School and the School of Medicine. Grayson, a member of the university's Translational Tissue Engineering Center, was recognized for his outstanding contributions to musculoskeletal tissue engineering and his efforts to educate the public on regenerative medicine strategies. He was also selected for his commitments to diversity.

  • Sujatha Kannan, a professor of anesthesiology, critical care medicine, and pediatric critical care at the School of Medicine. Kannan was nominated for her research into the role of glia in neurodevelopmental disorders and for her efforts to bridge clinical, preclinical, nanotechnology, and translational efforts for pediatric brain disorders.

  • Hanzhang Lu, professor and chief of the neurofunction section of the Department of Radiology and the Department of Biomedical Engineering. Lu was recognized for outstanding contributions to functional and physiological capabilities of brain MRI scans.