Two Johns Hopkins researchers elected to National Academy of Engineering

Jennifer Elisseeff, Charles Meneveau among 99 recognized for their 'outstanding contributions'

Two Johns Hopkins University researchers were awarded one of the highest professional distinctions for engineers: election into the National Academy of Engineering.

Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau

Image caption: Jennifer Elisseeff and Charles Meneveau

The academy announced Wednesday that Jennifer H. Elisseeff, a professor of biomedical engineering; and Charles Meneveau, a professor of mechanical engineering, were among 83 new members, along with 16 foreign members.

According to the academy, becoming a member "honors those who have made outstanding contributions to 'engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature' and to 'the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.' "

Elisseeff, who is also a professor at the Wilmer Eye Institute and directs the Translational Tissue Engineering Center, was chosen for her work in the development and commercial translation of injectable biomaterials for regenerative therapies.

Video credit: Johns Hopkins Biomedical Engineering

"I am very honored to be a part of the NAE and grateful for all of my students, fellows, and collaborators and the science we do together," Elisseeff said. "Most important, I look forward to contributing to the service that NAE provides to the nation."

Meneveau was honored for his contributions to turbulence small-scale dynamics, large-eddy simulations, and wind farm fluid dynamics, and for leadership in the fluid dynamics community.

The new class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the group's annual meeting in September in Washington, D.C.