Johns Hopkins forms lacrosse advisory board to support student-athletes

24-member group made up of active leaders and supporters of Hopkins lacrosse

Johns Hopkins University announced Monday the formation of a 24-member advisory board that will look for ways to enhance the undergraduate and postgraduate experience of members of the Hopkins men's and women's lacrosse programs.

The board, made up of active leaders and supporters of Hopkins lacrosse, will help both programs create a mentorship platform, plan internship and professional networking events across the country, improve communication and engagement with the Hopkins alumni community, and promote and explore new philanthropic initiatives.

"We are thrilled to announce the formation of our lacrosse advisory board, and we are thankful for the commitment each of the 24 members is making to the long-term success and growth of the Johns Hopkins lacrosse programs," said Alanna Shanahan, director of athletics. "Our commitment to ensuring the members of our men's and women's lacrosse programs are enjoying an unparalleled experience on and off the field is unwavering, and the formation of the advisory board further demonstrates the importance of lacrosse at Johns Hopkins University."

Since first fielding a team in 1883, the Johns Hopkins men's lacrosse program has won 44 national championships, including nine NCAA titles. It has produced a record 183 first-team All-Americans and 70 inductees into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

JHU's women's lacrosse program debuted in 1976 and moved from the Division III to the Division I level in 1999. Since then, Johns Hopkins has qualified for the NCAA tournament six times and produced 13 All-Americans.

Both teams compete in the Big Ten Conference.

The 24-person Johns Hopkins Lacrosse Advisory Board will conduct its first in-person meeting on Oct. 21. The members of the board are:

  • Jeff Barber, Class of 1995
  • Herb Better, Class of 1965
  • Tracey Brady Yurko, Class of 1997
  • Brian Carcaterra, Class of 2000
  • Sammy Cermack, Class of 2014
  • David Cordish, Class of 1960
  • Joe Cowan, Class of 1969
  • Dan Denihan, Class of 2000
  • Erinn Dennis, Class of 2002
  • Mary Ann Dickson, Class of 1997
  • Matt Dolente, Class of 2010
  • Adam Doneger, Class of 2003
  • Kyle Harrison, Class of 2005
  • Erin Hellmold, Class of 2002
  • David Huntley, Class of 1979
  • Brendan Kelly, Class of 1989
  • Sol Kumin, Class of 1999
  • Don Kurz, Class of 1977
  • Jon Marcus, Class of 1996
  • Les Matthews, Class of 1973
  • Shellee Nolan, Class of 1975
  • Paul Rabil, Class of 2008
  • Jerry Schnydman, Class of 1967
  • Chris Watson, Class of 2005