Longo leads 10 Blue Jays named to Centennial Conference first team for football

Senior earns league's defensive player of the year honor; Margraff named coach of the year for third time in four seasons

The Johns Hopkins football team has placed 12 players on the 2014 All-Centennial Conference football teams, including senior defensive end Michael Longo, the league's defensive player of the year. JHU coach Jim Margraff was named the conference's coach of the year for the third time in the past four seasons after guiding the Blue Jays to a 10-0 record.

Michael Longo

Image caption: Senior defensive end Michael Longo leads Johns Hopkins in tackles for losses (13.5) and sacks (10) and ranks third on the team with 49 tackles.

Of the 12 players honored, 10 were selected to the first team, equaling a school mark set in 2011. The group includes six players on defense—Longo along with senior defensive tackle Michael Rocca, junior linebackers Keith Corliss and Brady Watts, senior safety Ryan Rice, and sophomore safety Jack Toner.

One offense, the Blue Jays first-teamers were junior linemen Rowan Cade and Colin Egan, sophomore wide receiver Bradley Munday, and sophomore running back Stuart Walters. Senior lineman Kyle Flynn made the second team, and senior quarterback Braden Anderson received honorable mention recognition.

Longo is the sixth Johns Hopkins player to earn defensive player of the year honors. He ranks third on the team in tackles (49) and leads the team in tackles for losses (13.5) and sacks (10).

Margraff has guided the Blue Jays to a school-record 11 wins thus far this season along with a sixth straight Centennial Conference title and a fourth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Playoffs. Earlier this season, he became the winningest football coach in Maryland state history, and he owns an overall record of 178-82-3 in 25 season.

The Blue Jays visit Hobart on Saturday in the second round of the NCAA Division III tournament.