Hopkins Symphony Orchestra

Who can attend?

  • General public

Jung-Eun Kim


Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor, Opus 23 may be one of the most instantly recognizable piano concerti around, thanks in large parts to its opening melody, which is more seductive than the smell of chocolate chip cookies baking in the oven: following a flourish of brass that announces the allegro, the concerto settles into a buttery sway of strings behind the piano. Pianist Jung-Eun Kim joins the Hopkins Symphony Orchestra as soloist for the Tchaikovsky work for the season-opening concert of Baltimore's only community orchestra. Music director Jed Gaylin has programmed this season with his typically heady mix of ambition, world premieres, and some genuinely gorgeous music. One example of such pure ear pleasure is paired with the Tchaikovsky on this program: Johannes Brahms' Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Opus 90. Gaylin delivers a free pre-concert talk at 7 p.m.; the event is free for JHU students with a valid ID, $10 for general admission, $8 for guests age 60 and older. —Bret McCabe A pre-concert talk begins at 7:30 p.m.

Free for JHU students with valid ID

General admission: $10

Senior citizen (60+): $8

Non-JHU student (through college): $8** **

Who can attend?

  • General public

Editor’s note: We welcome your comments; all we ask is that you keep it civil and on-topic, and don't break any laws. We reserve the right to remove any inappropriate comments.

comments powered by Disqus